We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cultural Center

Sunset Cultural Center
San Carlos Street and Ninth Avenue, Carmel, CA
831 624 3996
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 30 attractions in Carmel
Type: Museums, Performances
Attraction Details
Carmel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Every seat in the House is great! Convenient to many fine restaurants. Saw the Beatles Tribute there and it was fantastic!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good selection of concerts, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Carmel's Sunset Cultural Center offers a wide selection of concerts and events. Best known for Carmel's annual Bach Festival, it also hosts smaller intimate concerts and symphony concerts. The seating is comfortable, and while it was totally refurbished and modified, the sound can be hit and miss.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sunset Center is a sunrise for your soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We moved to Carmel 10 years ago for it's beauty and culture.Sunset Center received a $25 million upgrade in 2002 and I sang in the Bach Festival then.For classical music fans,Bach Festival and Carmel Music Society present world class music without the frenzy of big city parking,traffic, and cost.The center is architecturally referencing the Mission,with state of the art acoustics.Every seat is great.Just saw Philharmonia Baroque and Opera San Jose through Carmel Music Society.Exquisite.Check their website!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent local venue for theater events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great seats, acoustics and acts. Reasonably priced. Saw Ira Glass there a bit ago. I was in the front row. I'll never forget it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Place to be entertained in Carmel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Whatever event i see here, from the Turtles to Crosby Stills And Nash, it is a small and great acoustic theater. There is not a bad seat in the house, but I usually buy front row tickets. I saw the beatles show, 1964 here, and I tell you, it is the next best thing to seeing the Beatles themselves, which is impossible. They have reasonably priced alcohol and snacks during intermission. This is a real gem in carmel, great events here!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cultural Center also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sunset Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.