We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judy Collins....YES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cultural Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunset Cultural Center
San Carlos Street and Ninth Avenue, Carmel, CA
831 624 3996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Attractions in Carmel
Type: Museums, Performances, Cultural
Attraction details
Marina, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Judy Collins....YES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to see her last week and it was amazing. Of course the crowd is what you would expect, grey, crooked, and happy to remember theri teenage years. The Sunset Center is a great venue, small but provides the audience with great sound. I just hope I look as good as Judy does when I reach 77.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“more here than you might expect, well...it's carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

there's a lot more here than you'd expect. great acoustics in a comfortable theatre. galleries, art, parking o my.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge range of talent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

You would be amazed at the talent that comes through this center. Many big name performers visit this facility. We are going next to see Kenny Loggins. I can say that having been there at least a dozen times, I have never had a bad seat. Doesn't matter if we are in the front or back row. There is not a bad seat in the house.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“surprisingly professional in small village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

this is an A List level performing arts centre ; in this small village.
A list acts like the Manhatten Transfer, Stylistis, New Orleans Preservation Jazz Band all appear here... wow... no need to go to SF or LA to catch a great act

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Carmel's Classic Entertainment Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent acoustics and the location of the legendary Carmel Bach Festival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cultural Center also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sunset Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.