We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge range of talent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cultural Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunset Cultural Center
San Carlos Street and Ninth Avenue, Carmel, CA
831 624 3996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 attractions in Carmel
Type: Museums, Performances
Attraction Details
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge range of talent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

You would be amazed at the talent that comes through this center. Many big name performers visit this facility. We are going next to see Kenny Loggins. I can say that having been there at least a dozen times, I have never had a bad seat. Doesn't matter if we are in the front or back row. There is not a bad seat in the house.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“surprisingly professional in small village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

this is an A List level performing arts centre ; in this small village.
A list acts like the Manhatten Transfer, Stylistis, New Orleans Preservation Jazz Band all appear here... wow... no need to go to SF or LA to catch a great act

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Carmel's Classic Entertainment Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent acoustics and the location of the legendary Carmel Bach Festival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Thought it was a church when I first saw it...Lovely!
Have been there twice..Recently saw Shirley McClaine (great show)..Large theatre, but very good seating..Entry is large enough so that you don't feel like cattle.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice but too bright!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Saw Shirley Maclaine's show there and for the life of me I couldn't figure out why they had the house lights on so bright the entire time. Surely (no pun intended) Shirley didn't ask for it to be that way. Maybe she did. But was very uncomfortable to me. Thought the theater was great. Staff friendly. What's not to like about a theater in Carmel?!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cultural Center also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sunset Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.