We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Restaurant

Cottage Restaurant
Lincoln Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 6260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The breakfast was great. Good omelets with fantastic fresh fruit. Bacon was crisp and very flavorful. The bangers were also very good with minimal fat.
The downside was the service. One lady taking orders and the wait for the check was endless.
We would return for breakfast but do not be in a hurry to get anywhere else when it is time to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    41
    23
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, Ca
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wife and I ate breakfast there and it is very nice little restaurant. Not all that expensive and the food is great. This place also fills fairly quickly so you may have to wait in line to eat. A lot of the locals visit here for coffee and breakfast. If you want a great tasting breakfast that is fairly inexpensive this is the place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass valley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place for breakfast! Really nice staff and yummy Eggs Benedict! It's a cute tiny cottage. Very cozy

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hashbrowns. Friendly staff,great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Cottage for breakfast. The hashbrowns were delicious as always. The servers are friendly and spot on! I really love the charming atmosphere. Will return again for great breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Carmel Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in at the Cottage for breakfast/lunch on our last day in Carmel. Charming, simple décor. The menu was quite extensive and hard for anyone not to find something to like. We decided on breakfast with a few interesting sides. I had eggs with "real" English Bangers...took me back to real English country breakfast...well cooked and flavorful. My wife had eggs as well and ordered Panetone French toast which had a wonderfully unique flavor and texture. I also spotted something I could not resist to try....Artichoke soup. It was absolutely wonderful! The texture and the flavor was really indescribable....a real winner. If you want a delicious morning/midday meal, the Cottage is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.