We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fondue and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Swiss Bistro

Lugano Swiss Bistro
3670 The Barnyard, Carmel, CA 93923-7001
831-626-3779
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #70 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rancho Boulevard
Lazy Point
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fondue and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Enjoyable little restaurant off of the mean part of Carmel...so you will need to drive...Very quiet the night we went there but it was a Monday. Meat fondue was good...our teenage boys enjoyed it for the first time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    23
    17
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Topsham, Maine
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Gemutlich!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a charming, cozy restaurant in the Barnyard in Carmel. Fondues, schnitzel, you name it -- very well-prepared and served promptly. We visited on a Friday and enjoyed the live music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I ordered their grilled shrimp linguine and I normally don't finish the food I ordered. This dish was so good, I did not have any left over to go despite the fact that I was not really that hungry. I went with a couple of friends and they even made the comment that they're surprised I did not have any left over. If you are celebrating your birthday, you've got to eat here for a really fun and different way of greeting you a happy birthday. I want you to be surprised and have a fun experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honeoye falls
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good fondue and nice central valley wine at a fair price. We had a fun night here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The cheese fondue was plenty for two to share. Lots of veggies and bread for dipping. The onion soup was very good. The owner came around to each table and checked on all the diners. Great touch. We would return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent onion soup and fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you like good onion soup and fondue this is the place.Better be hungry because the portions are large.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugano Swiss Bistro also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Lugano Swiss Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Swiss Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Lugano Swiss Bistro to your Saves list