We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fondue and nice central valley wine at a fair price. We had a fun night here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Swiss Bistro

Lugano Swiss Bistro
3670 The Barnyard, Carmel, CA 93923-7001
831-626-3779
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rancho Boulevard
honeoye falls
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good fondue and nice central valley wine at a fair price. We had a fun night here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The cheese fondue was plenty for two to share. Lots of veggies and bread for dipping. The onion soup was very good. The owner came around to each table and checked on all the diners. Great touch. We would return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent onion soup and fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you like good onion soup and fondue this is the place.Better be hungry because the portions are large.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Not too good...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall disappointing, although not awful. Good onion soup. TINY appetizer portion of Raclette (for $13.50) and poorly presented. Three mixed fingerling potatoes served cut up on a plate with just barely warm congealed (not hot and "melty" as it should be) cheese and four tiny (but good) gherkins. Schnitzel was ordinary, although the red cabbage with it was tasty, good and fresh. Service was poor. Overpriced and tacky. Not going back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Swiss Onion Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here for a late lunch on a Thursday afternoon. I had the Swiss Onion soup which was very good. Lots of gooey cheese over a nicely spiced broth. For an entrée I had the chicken and penne pasta. It was alright but the sauce was a little too thin. My father had the Schnitzle and really enjoyed it. The ambiance is very quaint, like a little lodge in the Alps. And the service was very good and friendly. They really made us feel welcome. I look forward to going there again to try their meat and cheese fondues.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were dying for Fondue and this was the place to go. While it was tough to find, we really loved our meal. We did the 4 fixed pieces. As hardy eaters, we were comfortably full when we left. The salad was key, a nice light start. The cheese fondue was a classic, delicious with full flavor. I was surprised that we had to actually cook the meat ourselves in the broth but it turned out to be a really great experience. When finished with that, the final chocolate fondue was amazing. Rich, full-flavored of deep cocco. WOW! The waitress, Wanda, did a great job clearing off our table and making sure we were OK. She was great at trying to upsell wine/coffee although it did become a bit much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugano Swiss Bistro also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Lugano Swiss Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Swiss Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.