We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint lil' breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Em Le's

Em Le's
Dolores St., Between 5th & 6th, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 625-6780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Santa Barbara CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint lil' breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were told that this would be the most "unusual" breakfast in Carmel & to get the famous French Toast. However when we saw it on another table we realized it was too large & rich looking for us & they don't do half orders. So we got an omelet & a waffle. It was good and the staff is friendly & the lil' cottage is quaint but next time we will try From Scratch as we generally like a healthier breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    45
    24
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

You must take time to eat at Em Le's restaurant when in Carmel. The food is the best and you are sure to go back! Be sure to try to Famous French Toast! it is beyond deliciousness! Host and hostess were friendly and attentive. A pleasure to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love their breakfast here. The owner is friendly and the food is fresh and the presentation is great. Excellent coffee too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Maybe breakfast is Em Le's thing, but don't bother with lunch....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Of all the great places to go for a nice lunch out, Em Le's is not the place. I went with a friend for lunch...both of us local girls, and thought we would give this place a try. So sorry we did. I ordered the salmon salad. With all the great local home grown tomatoes that can be had, I ended up with a hard, tasteless tomato on my place....nicely sliced, but oh so not good! The salmon was only so so, and the complete salad was mediocre at best. Like I said....if you are looking for a great lunch out, there are way to many great places to choose from. This is not the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Locals don't mind the mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Never again...omg. needs a MAJOR overhaul, and a new cook! Chairs are hard and a bit slimy. The booth.....forget it!
the food....pushed it around. The salmon and salad, what could go wrong right? yuk.
Maybe breakfast would be ok....maybe, But I'll never know.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Em Le's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Em Le's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Em Le's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.