We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Thin Walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24815 Carpenter Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Thin Walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am really torn about my review of this hotel. On the one hand, the staff was great, they were friendly and helpful, and the room was nice and clean. On the other hand, the walls are so thin that even I, a very heavy sleeper, could not get a good nights rest. We were awoken by drunken debauchery from our neighbors at 1 am and, thanks to the thin walls, had to spend a half an hour or so listening to them as if they were sitting right in our room. Because it sounded like a larger group, and there was definitely alcohol involved, my wife asked me not to go over and handle it because she was worried that there could be an altercation, so we just rode it out. Finally, one of the guys in the group sounded like they had a meltdown and started screaming and crying and that ended the party. Because the hotel is small, they do not staff it 24 hours a day, so there was no one to call to handle the disturbance.

In all honesty, if this whole disaster with the neighboring room had never happened, I would probably be writing a relatively favorable review, although I knew the second that we stepped into the room that we would probably have sound problems. So, if you are a light sleeper, I would recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: The king deluxe room was nice. It had a small kitchenette with some dishes and wine glasses and a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Public Relations Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am sorry about the noise disturbance in the late evening. There is actually a manager on duty and the person did call the police letting them know that there were loud noises coming from the room as well as alcohol being involved. The manager on the property did call the police to tell them as well that they were under the influence of alcohol and we noticed they did not come back that night. Hopefully the police caught them before they could cause any harm while driving under the influence. The number for the manager on duty is posted on the door of the lobby as stated during check-in. I am really sorry you had to deal with the noise issues. We are going to renovate all the rooms very soon with better sound proof walling and all new decor and furniture. Hopefully we can see you here soon and show you how much we have improved the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
37
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Recently went to Carmel and we stayed at this property. It was a great experience! We were very properly welcomed and the place is quaint and comfortable. The desk clerk even recommended where to have dinner and a discount on our meal. The room was very comfortable and very clean. The continental breakfast was served on porcelain plates with silver. Can not expect less in Carmel. We will be returning here.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I decided to write a review, though I rarely do, because the staff went above and beyond for me and we only spent a night at the hotel. When we first decided to book a hotel right in Carmel, we had our eye on a hotel closer to the beach that cost upwards of $150 on Expedia. However, when we stopped by to check it out we were disappointed with the rooms and decided to take a shot at checking out this hotel at $50 for the same night. Well the room ended up being cozier and the hotel was much more appealing. We overheard Nick giving advise on the restaurant selection and decided to take his recommendation. He was very patient with us looking at the room and taking it over before we took the room. It turned out to be a very pleasant evening with a walk to the center of town with shops and restaurants. The breakfast the following morning was delightful, all for $50. But the best part was after a few days back home in LA I realized that I left my newly bought (I fell in love with) Irish wool sweater in the room, I called and got a hold of Rosie and she quickly found my sweater and offered to send it to me. I was very glad, but also grateful that they were willing to go the extra step for me. She told me that the hotel is under new management and maybe that explains why the negative reviews represent nothing of my experience. I decided I needed to do them some justice and write about my very positive experience. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if it is cheaper than others in the area. The only think that I wish they had at the reception are some flashlights to borrow as the dark streets can be a challenge to navigate in the total darkness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way to San Francisco. We had read negative reviews but decided to give it a shot due to the Inn being under new ownership. I am happy to say that we were pleased with our choice. The management team was extremely friendly and helpful, they even upgraded us to a cottage during our stay. It is obvious that the new ownership cares about the property as they are making upgrades and new additions.

One thing to keep in mind is that the Inn is a quick drive from the main action that is Carmel. They do have a free breakfast which consists of bagels, fruit, coffee and hard boiled eggs etc. Another plus is that they also have free wifi for guests.

Perfect stay for those who want a quaint place to stay and don't need to have an upscale or "hoity toity" ambience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love the staff here, they are very knowledgable with the area and I was very appreciative with the recommendations they gave me to every restaurant and activity they told us about. The price was great as well and the Inn is nice and cozy. Breakfast was a plus as well as the free wifi which I loved since I can do work and travel with my wife at the same time. I do not know what other people are talking about complaining about the noise and the rude service, I experience none of this when I was here. I will definitely be back and experience Carmel again since you cannot do it all in one day.

Room Tip: I noticed when I booked directly with Carmel Crystal Inn, they were more flexible to move me to my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was a little leery of booking this hotel based on some of the reviews here, and am so glad I ignored the nasties and snides. Such as, remarks about being by the road, think about it folks: this is Carmel where they do not have street lights so it's very calm and dark at night. The speed limit is 25 mph so the cars passing are not making that much noise. The room I had was simply incredible, considering the more than reasonable price compared with the overpriced options elsewhere. Even the breakfast (compared with an overpriced option I'd taken recently where it consisted of a quarter of a muffin and a tiny cup of coffee) was rather complete. Round it all out with very friendly, effective and well-informed staff, you can't beat this place. Sure you can pay an outrageous price and sit next to the beach, or you can have this quiet little piece of heaven (don't miss the garden with the fountain, pure tranquility!) and you know what? I even could see the ocean from my room! I had the best of if all, and I didn't have to starve to keep within budget to do so. In closing, I'm not sure what hotel these other reviewers visited, but it certainly can't have been the Carmel Crystal Bay Inn!! I will stay here every time I visit Carmel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

To make a long story short, we made reservations in Nov. 2011 for a 3 night stay in sept. 2012 and were billed for it at the time of reservations, this was fine, so when we showed up on Sept 22, 2012, we knew we owed nothing for our stay. I made sure of this when I registsered and the clerk told me I was all set. We had no complaints during our stay, but a couple of weeks later after we returned home, we received our credit card bill for Sept, and I immediately noticed we were charged again for another 3 night stay. I called right away and asked the clerk to have the manager call me, which he did and he gave me a rediculous story about how he had taken over for the previous owner who fled town, and of course with our prepaid payment, and he didnt think he should lose this money. He never mentioned before we showed up or when we showed up that he was going to charge us again. We are not responsible for paying this a second time, when you take over a business, you take on all the negative issues with it. He told us to take it up with our credit card company and file a dispute with them, which is just what we did. Please people, pay attention to this, you could be next.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Public Relations Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We apologize on behalf of the old owner who is now wanted and did many things to give this Inn a bad reputation. As I stated with you before, all you had to call your credit card company with the amount that he charged you because what he did was illegal. The new ownership has nothing to do with the old owner so that is why I suggested to call the credit card company about this issue. Instead you think we double charged you, but only charged you the night you stayed with us. I am sorry it didn't work out as planned. I hope you have a better experience the next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites

Address: 24815 Carpenter Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vendange Carmel Inn has just been recently been renovated this month. We are doing a pre-opening starting now to showcase our new rooms with brand new furniture and brand new bathrooms as well. We have an exquisite pergola area and Wi-Fi that access all the buildings now. We have fixed the noise issues during the renovation process as guests reviews have told us both were a major issue. Now our rooms are very elegant, modern, and very tasteful with a special theme. Please come in and check them out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Crystal Bay Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.