We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Affordable Choice in Pricey Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable Affordable Choice in Pricey Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was a decent size, but smaller than many new American hotels. The unit appeared to have been remodeled recently. There was a queen bed, an easy chair, and a desk with chair, in addition to the dresser/storage unit. The lights had plug outlets on their bases - nice for mobile phone charging. The bed was comfortable, as was the bedding. There was a choice of pillow firmness. There was more than adequate storage in the room. It was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, flat panel t.v., iron, hairdryer, and a safe of a size sufficient to hold a laptop computer. There is a baseboard heater. The bathroom was large. It also had storage space and a counter top. There was a shower over tub. The towels were a bit small and there were only two bath towels. (My only complaint) Everything was extremely clean. We heard plumbing noises occasionally. We did not hear anything from the adjacent room. We did not hear traffic from Beach Ave. The wifi signal was very good. The property is quite attractive and is in good repair. There are comfortable outdoor seating areas. There is no pool or spa. Parking can be difficult and sometimes it is necessary to park along the street. The street, unusual for Carmel, is unregulated. Breakfast options were very good. There were the cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, and fresh fruit, as well as waffles, and rounds of scrambled egg and sausage. The hotel is in easy walking distance of downtown Carmel and all its shops and restaurants. The far end of Beach Avenue, the beach, is 1/2 mile downhill from the hotel. We would recommend the Comfort Inn to travelers looking for a lot of bang for their buck.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    191
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
73
237
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I've stayed at several B&Bs, etc. and I was absolutely shocked with the quality of this Comfort Inn. Very clean and comfortable and quiet, nice bathroom, even a very good breakfast included. Nice people also.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend and were pleasantly surprised by how nice and centrally located this property is. Our only complaint was that the room was quite cold and there were no extra blankets in the closet, but we'll know to bring a few extra blankets with us next time. Highly recommend this hotel - the location really can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel-by-the-Sea. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We were happy to hear that you appreciated our central location as many guests enjoy the ability to walk to all the popular local shops and dining Carmel has to offer.

I am so sorry to hear that your room was cold and had no extra blankets, we will check the central heating in the room, thank you for bring this to our attention. I wish you had called front desk our staff would have provided you extra blankets and a portable heater.

Appreciate your business and feedback. Look forward to your stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were traveling the west coast and checked Trip Advisor,we booked this hotel for one night. The room was nice. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. After walking the town and visiting the beach the next morning we decided we needed one more night, the staff were very accommodating on extended our stay. The breakfast was nice. The room was very clean. Coffee was available all day. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They all face the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your positive comments and pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and everything our hotel has to offer. We are very proud of our clean guest rooms, friendly staff, breakfast and our central location and we feel honored and grateful when our guests love it enough to extend their stay.

The staff is always delighted to hear a positive review so I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Appreciate your business and feedback. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Comfort Inn is in a fantastic location at the top of Ocean Avenue shopping area, with parking - a real plus. The rooms have been updated with new furniture and the bathrooms are also remodeled. There is a fridge, which is always a plus and a microwave. The garden setting is charming, with places to sit and have a cup of coffee. Only complaints would be towels are very thin as are the walls -- could hear the snoring in next room. But truly, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The staff was also pleasant.

Room Tip: Upstairs and there is at least one room with windows on both sides of the room to allow for cross ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel-by-the-Sea. We appreciate your many positive comments about our recently updated rooms and amenities, central location, friendly staff, and charming courtyard and grounds.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Appreciate your business and feedback. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A quaint inn on the main street of Carmel close to all the boutiques,restaurants and sea shore. Free parking and internet nice clean and well dressed rooms with comfortable beds. Safe in room along with iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete this survey and sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel-by-the-Sea.

It is very gratifying for our entire staff to read positive reviews as the one you posted about your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and everything our hotel has to offer, especially our central location as many guests enjoy the ability to walk to all the popular local shops and dining Carmel has to offer.

Appreciate your business and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfort Inn is in a great location.
Place is inviting with the garden setting.
Rooms are comfortable and clean.
Nice breakfast.
Close to A.W. SHUCKS that has the best oysters on the Half shell.
I hope my husband will take me there soon again.

Room Tip: Any room will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn, Carmel-by-the-Sea.

We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean rooms, charming courtyard and grounds, and enjoyed the breakfast. Many of guests have shared in your opinion and we always appreciate when these comments are reinforced. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they work hard to provide each guest with a positive experience.

Thank you for your business and kind words. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.