We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GNO (girls night out) in California!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GNO (girls night out) in California!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely "inn-like" experience. Super location...can walk anywhere and everywhere in Carmel! The property is very quaint...a little on the older side but charming! Loved the half-door on our Sunshine Suite room!! The INCREDIBLY reasonable rate included breakfast...tough to find in Carmel/Monterey!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    186
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
229
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
great falls, va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The staff was very friendly, the room small but comfortable and clean. The location was great, just blocks from restaurants and shops, and it was an easy walk to the beach. The breakfast room always had vacant tables, which cannot be said for many Comfort Inns.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

What a gem of a place!

Gita and her staff are to be highly commended for such a great Comfort Inn.
Very proffesional service and a fantastic location with superb rooms.
Definitely going to return to this location again as it's absolutely perfect.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This property has many pluses and a few minuses. If you know the scoop, you're all set. Its location is excellent, the rooms/baths are nicely done, the staff members are very kind. Bed was great. Issues: we chose 2nd floor of two for security. Probably overkill but required minimum of six steps, problematic for my joints. Biggest issue: HVAC. Carmel had some of its rare warm/hot days; even when the night was chilly the room did not cool down readily. A fan was supplied, which helped. Room was small; this didn't bother us. If this works for you, enjoy! // Traveler M.

Room Tip: See my comments. Ground floor would solve the steps issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very quaint, close to everything: shopping, beach, freeway access. Rooms are quiet, comfortable, clean, and updated. The customer care service is great. The hotel parking lot is small but parking is available on the street if there are no spots in the lot. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are really nicely decorated and most importantly very clean. The breakfast is very standard to most inns in america offering you the likes of tea, coffee, cereal,waffles,bread, meat,yogurt and fruit. The owners are very friendly and have no problem offering you advice on restaurants or what to do etc. If we go back to carmel which we really hope to do we will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our 4th multi-generational girl trip to Carmel by the Sea, but our first time to stay here. My daughter, grand daughter and I spent 5 nights here at the end of July and enjoyed every minute. Can't beat the location and the continental breakfast was great. Gita, the owner, was so friendly and helpful and the price was reasonable. The room was large and had all the amenities we needed - beds and pillows were comfortable. The decor was not as "Carmel quaint" as some other places we've stayed, but the comfort, location and good breakfasts, etc. definitely trumps :quaint." We'll be back next summer!

Room Tip: Second floor had a nice view of the town and was probably more private than first floor. There were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.