We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Boise
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The front desk person provided excellent service. The location is convenient to dowtown Carmel. The room is small; there is very little space for luggage or extra storage. The grounds, patio, and adjacent landscaping are very nice.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    179
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
222
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place with a charming central courtyard adorned with spring flowers. I was surprised to find such high-end materials used in the recent updates. Bath is spacious with granite and marble. Rooms are large enough to be very comfortable and the furniture is better than most Comfort Inns. This has all the amenities you'll need, very pleasant staff, immaculately clean and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. I will stay here again in a heartbeat if I'm lucky enough to be in Carmel again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Perfect little Inn in beautiful Carmel. Centrally located, good size rooms and with free wi fi, breakfast and parking (if a little limited) we had no complaints. We stayed for 2 nights and found the location perfect for touring Monterey and Big Sur

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I were to stay at this hotel for. 4 nights. When we arrived we discovered there was no A/C only a fan . The room was very small and temperature was in the high 80s. The slider windows opened only partly onto an outdoor walkway All our neighbors windows were crank outs which created a hazard when you tried to walk by . There was no privacy. My wife inadvertently. Saw a woman without her clothing on sitting in her room. Without the windows wide open you cooked. We were to have a refrigerator but it did not work. Our door would not lock. There was parking for about 10 cars . We were told we could park on the adjoining streets if we could find an open spot. We left after one night. When we had arrived we could not sign in or get a receipt because the hotel computer was not working.However the clerk did manage to run our credit card ?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Brilliant location, easy to find the hotel when we arrived and easy to get your bearings and find your way around Carmel, its shops, restaurants and of course 17 Mile Drive. The outside appearance of the hotel is very much in keeping with the older & up scale style of the locality.
Our room was clean and tidy, if a little dated. Having said that there was nothing wrong with its amenities, including WIFI, and we both enjoyed a couple of good nights sleeps.
There is a small parking area for 7 cars immediately next to check in (further parking on roadside around same block). Because of the hillside gradient the upper rooms are half a stairway up from the parking area and the lower rooms are half a stairway down. Access to both sets of rooms is via an external corridor 'frontage', which of course means people pass in front of your room window to get in and out of their rooms.
The sign to look for as you arrive to check in says 'Office' (it's on the lower level), and breakfast is served in the Office. Eating breakfast in the Office is a little disconcerting as normal daily business (phone calls, checking out, deliveries etc) is all going on around you in a relatively small room.
I've marked Value down as this Comfort Inn was the most expensive one of the 6 we stayed at during our vacation in California, however it was not the best hotel we stayed at. My wife thinks the higher pricing could have been influenced by a 'Carmel factor'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed by the location. It's right at the top of ocean avenue which is great! The breakfast is just ok but plastic cutlery is very off-putting. A man would bring the eggs in from outside when they needed re-filling which was strange The room was well-equipped. Overall a very satisfactory stay.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed only for one night with my wife and two kids.

The room was modern and nice, well located, close to 101 and walking distance to the stores and Scenic rd (beach), which I recommend to go for a run.

Staff were friendly, complementary internet worked fine, complementary parking spots were always available and the breakfast was acceptable (although we chose to have espresso and amazing pastries in one of the several great coffee places over ocean avenue)

Only downside is the early check out at 11 am.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.