We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in the office” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast in the office”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Brilliant location, easy to find the hotel when we arrived and easy to get your bearings and find your way around Carmel, its shops, restaurants and of course 17 Mile Drive. The outside appearance of the hotel is very much in keeping with the older & up scale style of the locality.
Our room was clean and tidy, if a little dated. Having said that there was nothing wrong with its amenities, including WIFI, and we both enjoyed a couple of good nights sleeps.
There is a small parking area for 7 cars immediately next to check in (further parking on roadside around same block). Because of the hillside gradient the upper rooms are half a stairway up from the parking area and the lower rooms are half a stairway down. Access to both sets of rooms is via an external corridor 'frontage', which of course means people pass in front of your room window to get in and out of their rooms.
The sign to look for as you arrive to check in says 'Office' (it's on the lower level), and breakfast is served in the Office. Eating breakfast in the Office is a little disconcerting as normal daily business (phone calls, checking out, deliveries etc) is all going on around you in a relatively small room.
I've marked Value down as this Comfort Inn was the most expensive one of the 6 we stayed at during our vacation in California, however it was not the best hotel we stayed at. My wife thinks the higher pricing could have been influenced by a 'Carmel factor'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VisitorfromFLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed by the location. It's right at the top of ocean avenue which is great! The breakfast is just ok but plastic cutlery is very off-putting. A man would bring the eggs in from outside when they needed re-filling which was strange The room was well-equipped. Overall a very satisfactory stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mob888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only for one night with my wife and two kids.

The room was modern and nice, well located, close to 101 and walking distance to the stores and Scenic rd (beach), which I recommend to go for a run.

Staff were friendly, complementary internet worked fine, complementary parking spots were always available and the breakfast was acceptable (although we chose to have espresso and amazing pastries in one of the several great coffee places over ocean avenue)

Only downside is the early check out at 11 am.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was so pleased by everything at this hotel from the moment I saw it very nice ! The staff and the room was outstanding the grounds where gorgeous. Loved the complimentary breakfast outstanding ! The room was very comfortable, nicely clean and arranged. The lady at the front desk took the time and asked if everything was ok for our stay and was so nice.

Room Tip: this is a small cozy hotel, very nice all the rooms have dutch doors which is beautiful for taking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here spontaneously on our two week road trip. Carmel by the sea is such a lovely town but pretty pricey. This hotel is a gem - clean, recently refurbished and much cheaper than expected $120 for the night. The staff were friendly helpful and the rooms clean and spacious. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CC1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel. The owner couldn't have been nicer. Very cleanly and very reasonable rates. It was close all the restaurants and shopping in Carmel. We really enjoyed ourselves and we will be back .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stay at Comfort Inns frequently all across the country. I've come to expect a nice room, reasonable rates, high standards for comfort and cleanliness, and very friendly and helpful staff. This Comfort Inn exceeded all my expectations. In addition to the above, we got a GREAT location and a delightful courtyard with a beautiful garden right outside our door. The door was even a Dutch door so we could open the top up to the breezes and the scents of the garden without compromising our privacy or security. I highly recommend this hotel when you stay in beautiful Carmel.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our 1st floor room right on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTQSZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing