We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good price and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed by the location. It's right at the top of ocean avenue which is great! The breakfast is just ok but plastic cutlery is very off-putting. A man would bring the eggs in from outside when they needed re-filling which was strange The room was well-equipped. Overall a very satisfactory stay.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    211
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
81
268
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed only for one night with my wife and two kids.

The room was modern and nice, well located, close to 101 and walking distance to the stores and Scenic rd (beach), which I recommend to go for a run.

Staff were friendly, complementary internet worked fine, complementary parking spots were always available and the breakfast was acceptable (although we chose to have espresso and amazing pastries in one of the several great coffee places over ocean avenue)

Only downside is the early check out at 11 am.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was so pleased by everything at this hotel from the moment I saw it very nice ! The staff and the room was outstanding the grounds where gorgeous. Loved the complimentary breakfast outstanding ! The room was very comfortable, nicely clean and arranged. The lady at the front desk took the time and asked if everything was ok for our stay and was so nice.

Room Tip: this is a small cozy hotel, very nice all the rooms have dutch doors which is beautiful for taking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here spontaneously on our two week road trip. Carmel by the sea is such a lovely town but pretty pricey. This hotel is a gem - clean, recently refurbished and much cheaper than expected $120 for the night. The staff were friendly helpful and the rooms clean and spacious. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel. The owner couldn't have been nicer. Very cleanly and very reasonable rates. It was close all the restaurants and shopping in Carmel. We really enjoyed ourselves and we will be back .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stay at Comfort Inns frequently all across the country. I've come to expect a nice room, reasonable rates, high standards for comfort and cleanliness, and very friendly and helpful staff. This Comfort Inn exceeded all my expectations. In addition to the above, we got a GREAT location and a delightful courtyard with a beautiful garden right outside our door. The door was even a Dutch door so we could open the top up to the breezes and the scents of the garden without compromising our privacy or security. I highly recommend this hotel when you stay in beautiful Carmel.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our 1st floor room right on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Centrally located - One block from Center.
Clean room and bathroom; Nice bed - Floor creaks a little but so what.
Noisy only when people walk by - That stops around 11 pm.
Breakfast was only okay - But at least you got breakfast. Most places do not include breakfast.
Price - Really good for the location.

Tip: Bring a flashlight when you go out at night. The streets are really dark and be careful when you cross the main street. Use your flashlight so that cars can see you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.