We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING, DARLING AND BEST SLEEP!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“CHARMING, DARLING AND BEST SLEEP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed at the Comfort Inn Carmel by the Sea during Thanksgiving 2013. The Inn is charming and welcoming on the outside, and updated, nicely appointed rooms with excellent beds. The location is perfect and within walking distance to all you want to see in Carmel. When we reached the Inn, we loved the window boxes with bright flowers and upon registration we met Susie. She is just the best. We enjoyed our days talking with Susie, and she was very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast is included and is quite nice. We will definitely return to our best sleep! Oh, there is also a darling outside patio! Thank you again, Susie, for a great stay!

Room Tip: We loved the second story room because the bathroom had a window and we had a view of the town. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    179
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
222
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We only stayed overnight as it was a stopover on our way to LA. We found the hotel very clean and had all the comforts although the room we had was tiny & with four people sharing it was a little tight but for an overnight stay was ok. The complimentary Buffet breakfast had a good variety to choose from - even better than some of the bigger hotels we've stayed at. The location is very good. It's within walking distance to shops, restaurants & the beach. It's also a short distance if you want to drive to Monterey or Pebble Beach etc. Overall, good, clean hotel for a short stay especially as this town can be a bit pricey. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Close to all the shops, clean, comfortable and friendly staff. A bargain in the high rent area. This will be at the top of my list upon returning.

The breakfast was very good. Contrary to some hotels, there is limited on site parking .... a big plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here in DEC 2013 with a friend as part of our tour of the Central Coast. The hotel is located at the top of Ocean Ave so you are right there by all of the shops and restaurants of Carmel.

If you want a fancy hotel, this isn't it. But if you want a very clean, newly redocorated and refurbished hotel with good parking and a nice but simple exterior and you want to save some money, I would recommend this place. The owner is alo the manager so you get a higher level of service than you might otherwise get. The free breakfast was quite good with large variety and plenty to eat with fresh fruit, danishes, waffles, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hotel Suite was very pleasant. The service provided by the staff was exceptional.
I will make the same choice when I return to Carmel. The free breakfast was superb.
The scenery around the hotel was extremely pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
First of all let me thank for giving us a 5 star rating by taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, good breakfast, convenient location, very friendly and helpful receptionist at the front desk - I believe Susie is her name. Excellent cost-benefit! We were orinally staying for only one night and then moving on to Monterey, but decided to take a day trip to Monterey and go back to Carmel for two more nights! Best thing we did!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Checked many hotels in Carmel and this seemed to be the best value. Very limited cramped parking and upon our arrival we witnessed a jeep in the parking lot that backed right into an SUV parked on the street, quite a bit of damage and they just drove off! Hotel is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Desk clerk was friendly but the main issue for us were the thin walls-our boisterous neighbors were swearing and having loud conversations till 1 a.m. when my husband pounded on the wall and asked them to quiet down (they did). Free Wifi and nice complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: try many websites to find the best value in Carmel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.