We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Westville, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed her one nite while travelling the Pacific Coast Hwy. This was a nice property, the complimentary breakfast was decent. I would recommend, it was relaxing. They had a nice courtyard. Very close to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience during your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We were happy to hear that you found the hotel to be relaxing and you enjoyed your time on our beautiful courtyard. Many of our guests enjoy the beautiful surroundings and pretty flowers. We hope you visit again soon and can come enjoy Carmel for a few extra days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    143
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
62
186
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great location if you want to explore Carmel and the surrounding areas. The rooms are Very clean, quiet, and the Manager is always willing to help with your needs or restaurant locations. Parking is a bit limited, but it did not interfere with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is very gratifying for our entire staff to read positive reviews as the one you posted about your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We are pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and everything our hotel has to offer. I will pass along your compliments to our staff as they work very hard to make each guest stay memorable. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our two night stay at Comfort Inn Carmel by the Sea exceeded all expectations. Our room looked like it had been recently remodeled while keeping a lovely cottage feel. The room was spotless, the breakfast buffet had lots of choices including eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt and an assortment of breads. The grounds were glorious with beautiful flowers. I've stayed at many Choice Privilege Hotels and wish they would all hold the same standards as Carmael by the Sea!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation of the Comfort Inn Carmel. You are correct in your statement that our guestrooms have been recently renovated and the breakfast you described if Comfort Inns new "Your Truly" Breakfast which we re glad you enjoyed. I will pass along your compliments to our housekeeping staff as they take tremendous pride in room cleanliness. We hope you return to enjoy our hotel and the beautiful surroundings of Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We drove from Reno to Sacramento, stayed overnight and then drove to Monterey/Carmel. We found the Comfort Inn purely by accident and wanted out of the stream of traffic on Route 1. We checked in early and enjoyed a bottle of wine and conversation with several other guests on the sunny patio. Parking was easy and the restaurants were within easy walking distance. Susie was very helpful. Our room was just delightful-- quiet, clean. My wife and I will stay here again on our infrequent trips to Carmel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We always appreciate when a guest takes time to share their positive moments during there stay. I will pass along your compliments the Susi she does a tremendous job is taking care of each guest. We hope to see you soon at the Comfort Inn Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After a long drive down from SF , we didn't have anything booked to stay in as we weren't sure how far we would drive that day , We decided on Carmel as it a pretty little town . We called into the Comfort Inn and straight away the manager gave us a discount rate . The hotel is clean and comfortable . There's a complimentary breakfast served each morning which included sausage patties , eggs , waffles , cereal , toast , yoghurts tea and coffee . The hotel sits at the start of the ocean ave shopping district and makes it very easy to walk around the town .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our stay in Carmel was very pleasant as we were given an early check-in! It was a Friday at 12noon and we had just arrived from Fresno, Ca. It made a huge difference to check in early instead of 3p. It allowed us not to worry about where to park our car and we could freshen up before we explored the downtown area. The location is excellent. It's at the top of Ocean Ave and is in walking distance to all the restaurants, galleries, shopping, the beach and even a grocery store (rooms have refrig). The room was modernly renovated but still had the charm of Carmel with a courtyard and flowers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This pretty little hotel was very clean and had a peaceful charm about it. The location is perfect for shopping and restaurants. Susie was very kind to help me with my midnight arrival. I plan to stay here again on my next visit to Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.