We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and were very pleased with the rooms, location and staff. We arrived very late our first night and Susie the manager stayed past the office closing time to give us our rooms. The location could not be better, across the road is a deli store with everything you could possibly want. We brought food from there and sat out in the courtyard at the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    130
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
53
168
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been remiss in sending this review from our visit in March, so here it is.

My husband had a major birthday on St. Patrick's Day, and we decided to come out so he could play a round of golf at Pebble Beach. We really wanted to stay in Carmel, had not been back in several years but remembered how nice it was just to walk to restaurants, shops, and the beach. We found this hotel right off Ocean Blvd. and it turned out to be a great spot for us. Stayed four days. Each day breakfast was included, which was very convenient. It is also close to a grocery store. The hotel is very well managed, the rooms are small, but very well appointed. Very clean as well! If you book a room for two people, it would be hard to add more people or beds; we left our golf bags in the car. There is some parking available, first come first serve. The Inn is very efficiently run. We saw the lady everyday and it is clear she keeps and eye on everyone and everything. We felt safe and comfortable. The last night we changed our room to the only suite, and it was spacious and nice, with a private seating area outside. There is a courtyard with outside seating, nice area to share a glass of wine. Lots of flowers everywhere. We would enjoy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very pretty and all you need for an over night stay. It is located on the main street towards the outside of town. The rooms are clean and well stocked, Keith a coffee maker and bath. I would not stay longer as the rooms were very dark and walls thin. The breakfast was limited with the strangest burger and flat rubber eggs. By the way don't arrive early as your room will not be available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked early and was able to get the King Bed Suite (room 58). It is a large room with fireplace. Even though it was mid July, the evenings get cool on the coast and we enjoyed the fireplace in the evenings. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was standard (waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs). Parking can be a little difficult, only 6 spots in the lot, and the street parking was always full. But we parked in the lot when we checked in and never moved the car for 2 days. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My and husband and I have been visiting Carmel by the Sea for more than 20 years. Our stay at the Comfort Inn was one of the best we've had. Susie, the proprietor, had a lovely room for us and was able to meet our every need. We needed extra sheets, an extra blanket, and some extra towels. She made sure our every need was met! The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The dutch doors allowed for extra ventilation in the room while the baseboard heater kept us warm and toasty on cool nights. We've stayed at many different places during our trips to Carmel. As a great value, this is by far the best and included a microwave and small fridge. Many thanks, Susie, save us another great room because we will be back!

Lois and Dennis

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy Point
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Don't get my title wrong. The rooms were clean, the help was helpful, the breakfast was included. And I would go back again if I were just traveling as a couple. As we needed 2 rooms we need to keep the price down. But again everything was good. Very convenient location, parking was a little tight but that's an FYI, not a problem.

Please be aware that there are some steps involved on the location, so crutches are fine, but wheelchairs, I would think, are problematic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Comfort inn is nicely situated near the main Street in Carmel, and was pretty easy to find. We actually spotted the place from the road and landed up there at 10 30 pm. The rooms were big and clean, and service was quick and very courteous. All in all, a cute little place in a cute village.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Comfort Inn Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#19 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.