We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and were very pleased with the rooms, location and staff. We arrived very late our first night and Susie the manager stayed past the office closing time to give us our rooms. The location could not be better, across the road is a deli store with everything you could possibly want. We brought food from there and sat out in the courtyard at the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    217
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
92
277
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been remiss in sending this review from our visit in March, so here it is.

My husband had a major birthday on St. Patrick's Day, and we decided to come out so he could play a round of golf at Pebble Beach. We really wanted to stay in Carmel, had not been back in several years but remembered how nice it was just to walk to restaurants, shops, and the beach. We found this hotel right off Ocean Blvd. and it turned out to be a great spot for us. Stayed four days. Each day breakfast was included, which was very convenient. It is also close to a grocery store. The hotel is very well managed, the rooms are small, but very well appointed. Very clean as well! If you book a room for two people, it would be hard to add more people or beds; we left our golf bags in the car. There is some parking available, first come first serve. The Inn is very efficiently run. We saw the lady everyday and it is clear she keeps and eye on everyone and everything. We felt safe and comfortable. The last night we changed our room to the only suite, and it was spacious and nice, with a private seating area outside. There is a courtyard with outside seating, nice area to share a glass of wine. Lots of flowers everywhere. We would enjoy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very pretty and all you need for an over night stay. It is located on the main street towards the outside of town. The rooms are clean and well stocked, Keith a coffee maker and bath. I would not stay longer as the rooms were very dark and walls thin. The breakfast was limited with the strangest burger and flat rubber eggs. By the way don't arrive early as your room will not be available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked early and was able to get the King Bed Suite (room 58). It is a large room with fireplace. Even though it was mid July, the evenings get cool on the coast and we enjoyed the fireplace in the evenings. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was standard (waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs). Parking can be a little difficult, only 6 spots in the lot, and the street parking was always full. But we parked in the lot when we checked in and never moved the car for 2 days. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My and husband and I have been visiting Carmel by the Sea for more than 20 years. Our stay at the Comfort Inn was one of the best we've had. Susie, the proprietor, had a lovely room for us and was able to meet our every need. We needed extra sheets, an extra blanket, and some extra towels. She made sure our every need was met! The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The dutch doors allowed for extra ventilation in the room while the baseboard heater kept us warm and toasty on cool nights. We've stayed at many different places during our trips to Carmel. As a great value, this is by far the best and included a microwave and small fridge. Many thanks, Susie, save us another great room because we will be back!

Lois and Dennis

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Don't get my title wrong. The rooms were clean, the help was helpful, the breakfast was included. And I would go back again if I were just traveling as a couple. As we needed 2 rooms we need to keep the price down. But again everything was good. Very convenient location, parking was a little tight but that's an FYI, not a problem.

Please be aware that there are some steps involved on the location, so crutches are fine, but wheelchairs, I would think, are problematic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Comfort inn is nicely situated near the main Street in Carmel, and was pretty easy to find. We actually spotted the place from the road and landed up there at 10 30 pm. The rooms were big and clean, and service was quick and very courteous. All in all, a cute little place in a cute village.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.