We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Belmont, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Rooms in Carmel aren't cheap, so I was pleasantly surprised to find this little gem so close to the heart of Carmel for such a reasonable price. You can walk out your door and be right there on the block where all the shops and restaurants begin. Our room was small, but very clean and updated...nice flat screen TV and renovated bathroom. Cute little brick patio outside too. The breakfast included with price was an expanded form that included a waffle station, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, muffins, sweet rolls, eggs, sausage coffee and juice. When you deduct the cost of a breakfast out from the already cheap room rate, I felt like I really scored on this one. Now it was a AAA rate and it was October, so maybe the prices would be higher during summer. Susie, the manager at the desk was very friendly and helpful. In fact when we told her our coffeemaker didn't work, she immediately and I mean immediately sent someone up with a new one. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most recent review about your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel by the Sea. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location which you mentioned is walking distance to all restaraunts, art galleries, and shopping that Carmel has to offer. As you mentioned Comfort Inn Hotels now offer the new and improved "Yours Truly Breakfast" which includes waffle station, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, muffins, sweet rolls, eggs, sausage coffee and juice. The breakfast is provided daily on a complimentary basis which our guests appreciate. Our hotel has gone through many improvements which you mentioned and makes our rates very competitive. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    151
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
65
193
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The rooms here are far better than the Comfort Inn brand might suggest. Clean, modern, and tastefully decorated. Our only complaint was that it was very easy to hear sounds from neighboring rooms -- even just normal TV volume was audible from the next room. But for the price relative to other options, we thought it was still a good value.

Location is excellent if you're focused on Ocean Blvd. -- easy walking distance to all the shops and galleries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was so happy to hear you appreciate your stay with to be a tremendous value for price paid. With our clean, modern, and tastefully decorated guest rooms and excellent location, many guest find much comfort and enjoyment during there stay with us. Our Staff works very hard to provide the best customer service so that each guest has a special experience when visiting our beautiful area. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent one night here in September and were pleasantly surprised with this Comfort Inn. The price was reasonable as far as Carmel prices go and the location was ideal for wondering around the town. We had a lovely large room on the second floor which was spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything we could want. The manager Susie was very helpful and accommodating even when I managed to accidentally break the jug of the coffee maker! Breakfast was better than expected with plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, waffles, eggs and sausage to choose from. Overall I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice comments you recently posted about the Comfort Inn Carmel. I truly appreciate the recomendation of our hotel to future travelers as many guest base their decisions on reading these reviews. I will pass along your nice comments on room cleanliness to our housekeeping staff as they do work very hard so that each guest enjoy their experience at our hotel. Susie will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had originally hoped for a bed and breakfast with a more quaint atmosphere and was disappointed when it turned out booked. Comfort Inn was my alternative, mainly because I knew there was availability and my son had stayed in one and said it was nice. I was very pleased with the consideration given us by the manager. We arrived after 7PM and she gave us a downstairs room because other reservations had already arrived. Because we were staying three nights, she said she was having us moved the next morning to an upstairs so that we would not hear people above us the whole time. She offered this without any request from us. Actually, the downstairs room was not noisy but the upstairs was, of course, lighter and brighter. The rooms were average in size for hotels, clean and the refrigerator was an added bonus. The parking was a little challenging, though we lucked out both days and got spaces in front of the hotel. Great location because you can walk everywhere. Breakfast was more than I expected. I thought we would just get a continental offering but the fresh waffles were great! The manager was so accommodating and really took pride in her place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I truly appreciate the nice comments about your stay with us. I understand that you normally stay at another inn but we are happy that you took your son's recomendation and that it ended is a pleasant stay. As many past guests have mentioned they apprteciate our central location, clean nicely appointed guestrooms and expanded full breakfast. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a nice, small inn at the "top" of Ocean Avenue descending into the long shopping and dining street of Carmel. An excellent location, well-managed by a gracious Indian lady. The room is well-appointed with modern furniture and an excellent TV, but the bathroom has its facilities awkwardly placed, so that you have to walk around the protruding toilet to get to the sink. Windows open to the fresh air, very important to me. Breakfast, overseen with military precision by the same lady, is good, if standard, with waffles, pre-cooked eggs and sausage, cereal, fruit, etc. I have only two criticisms of this place. First, parking is very, very limited, with not enough spaces for all the rooms, so that we had to park "around the corner" overnight. Second, getting a predictable and stable low room rate is very difficult. When you contact Comfort Inn or its parent Choice Hotels, or attempt to go through Kayak or Expedia or Travelocity, you get all sorts of different rates. You have to try to find out what the truly lowest rate is, and get it confirmed in writing. I found out that is not easy to do. I was quoted a rate of about $106 including tax by phone from the parent company, then billed for $133 on my credit card. Not way out of line for this expensive resort town, but irritating. Get it in writing.

Room Tip: Get that room rate in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, ca
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Remembering this is a Comfort Inn - it is a great value for the area. You are at the top of Ocean Ave., so all shops and restaurants are "downhill" from here, as well as the beautiful beach. Room was clean, smaller than expected but very adequate. Bathroom good sized. Very warm nights, but fan is in the closet!.. Breakfast left a little to be desired, just your typical Costco fair, but enough to get you going. Brunos market and deli is directly behind the hotel, great for picking up sandwiches and drinks. The patio and seating on balcony was a nice plus here. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Better "views" upstairs -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel. As you mentioned our hotel is centrally situated in the heart of the Carmel Village, near fine dining, art galleries, and the best boutique shopping. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our well appointed guestrooms as much time and effort is spent by all staff members to ensure the best possible guest experience. We look forward to your return to Carmel on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What more do you need in paradise?
Clean room - check
Nicely furnished room and bath - check
Frig and Microwave in room - check (restaurants are expensive and a grocery store is across the street)
Breakfast - check
Friendly staff - check
Walking distance to town and the ocean - check

I knew I was in the right hotel in Carmel because a lot of international travelers were staying here. If you are the kind of traveler who spends their time exploring the city rather than in your room I would recommend staying here. It's an amazing value in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all the positive comments during your stay at out hotel. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they take much interest in the guest experience and take alot of pride in ensuring each guest takes away nice memories while visiting our hotel and Carmel by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.