We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch outdoors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Corner

Village Corner
6th Ave AT Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-3588
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #61 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a very good lunch on the patio. Service was attentive, and the menu has a nice selection. Our food was very good. I would definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    66
    83
    25
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Decent lunch ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

A decent lunch ... unfortunately the service was, well ... too slow, even though the restaurant was almost empty. We were seated and got our drinks promptly. Then the waiter disappeared for 15 minutes, although one of the helpers got us refills on our drink. The waiter returned, took our order and our food was delivered within 10 minutes. My order (the San Francisco BELT) was pretty good, although the fries were pretty soggy. After bringing our lunch, the waiter disappeared again; this time for about 20 minutes. I don't know if this is considered a relaxed pace, but I found it a bit annoying. Anyway, after another 15 minutes, I eventually had to go to the register to get and pay my bill. If it wasn't for the food, I'd have given Village a lower score.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast place in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Carmel, having first visited 57 years ago on our honeymoon and averaging three or four visits a year ever since. We have tried many other places for breakfast in Carmel but our favorite and by far the most frequented is Village Corner. The food and service are always excellent and the heated patio is great even on the coolest mornings for allowing us to bring our little pooch to breakfast

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I enjoyed a delicious lunch at the Village Corner while staying in Carmel last week, their spinach salad with shrimp. The food was excellent, the waitstaff very friendly and respectful. The prices were reasonable and the wine was excellent. Meeting a friend there for lunch proved to be an excellent choice. The outdoor patio dining was delightful. I see why this restaurant has been in operation for over 60 years! It was charming indeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A really great evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I were driving up the California coast for our vacation. We stopped at Carmel, and ate at this restaurant for dinner. We went late, around 9pm, so there were only other couples dining too which was nice pleasant atmosphere. I was immediately attracted to the fact that it had an outdoor patio that had warm heaters above the tables and a large outdoor center fireplace! It really made dining such a nice experience! I had the lobster penne, and it was perfect comfort food for me on a chilly outdoor night, delicious and hot. The bread is good and the dipping sauce that comes with it had SO much flavor. The food came out pretty fast. I also had the berry panna cotta and their rose champagne. It was pretty much a perfect evening. Thank you! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Corner also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Village Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.