We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly priced restaurant, consistently good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Grill - CLOSED

Terrace Grill
Camino Real & Eighth Ave., La Playa Hotel, Carmel, CA 93923
831-624-6476
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: A casual ambiance defines the Terrace Grill at the La Playa Hotel. Noted Chef Bunyan Fortune prepares a unique variety of offerings, created to blend the tremendous resources of Monterey County produce and fresh seafood with classic European preparations. Lobster tamales, Artichokes, Ravioli and Filet Mignon with Portobello Mushroom Sauce are just a few examples of Chef Bunyan's bountiful specialties. Al Fresco dining on the heated open air terrace overlooking the garden's colorful, year-round blooms is always available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The wood paneled Terrace Grill Lounge offers cocktails, a collection of old ports and sherries, and an extensive wine list featuring the best in Central Coast wines as well as Napa and Sonoma favorites.
Glen Ellen
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fairly priced restaurant, consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We particularly enjoyed a seafood special dish. In fact, we returned several days later and my husband again had the special. We asked our server about the recipe for the sauce, and he cited the ingredients and cooking time, so we now make it occasionally. The service was particularly helpful. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grilling in the sunshine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We ate on the Terrace Grill one lunchtime and one breakfast. The food was very good, the wine beautifully chilled. At breakfast, although we sat under a parasol the sun was quite low and we also got very hot so we were quite uncomfortable. We should have asked to move but we just had to spend our last day in California outside (in November) so we just grinned and put up with it. It's now December and I wish I was back there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Food/Very Fair Prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the La Playa Hotel and arrived late. We had dinner at the Terrace Grill and were pleasant surprised! The food was very good, the wine list was very good and all fairly priced. The servers were pleasant. We began our evening with a martini each, shared a salad, each enjoyed an entree and a bottle of wine all for about $100 plus the tip! After dinner we had a drink at the bar and enjoyed talking with the bartender. I wish I remembered his name. He said he'd been working there for 28 years, loved his job and it showed! The following morning we had breakfast at the Terrace Grill. Again, fairly priced and good food. We'd definitely return!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good View but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The quality of food on March 9, 2011 was not as good as what we had on December 31, 2010. We were disappointed with my husband's uncooked chicken and my fishy sanddab.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We won't return to Terrace Grill after 20 years of patronage!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We have been enjoying dinners at the Terrace Grill for over 20 years especially celebrating birthdays. Not anymore! We noticed the change immediately. After making a birthday reservation my mother noticed no balloon as usual when we arrived. Then we got a young, snippy waiter. For years we have ordered the sole with potatoes instead of rice. No problem before tonight! We were told a $2 charge. OK--Then my sisters wanted to know what came with their special and were told cabbage. They both said no cabbage, but they wanted the potatoes. He said snippily, " a $2 charge" to both of them. They said they didn't care about the charge, but they didn't want the cabbage! All five of us started noticing all the waiters were young and wondered what happened to usually more experienced waiters. Then the meals came. My sisters got cabbage anyway and potatoes. We mentioned again about my sister's birthday. No response. We asked about my sister's birthday dessert. We were told they don't do free birthday desserts. We said they always had before. The young waiter said, NO THEY DON'T! Then he called a woman manager who lied and told us she worked here 5 years and they never did birthday desserts. (We had been here at least a dozen times previously getting a candle in a cake or small sundae.) My younger sister got one just this August. The manager said she would give my sister a free desert this time but NEVER AGAIN! My sister didn't even want desert now. When they did bring one, still no candle. The birthday celebration had been spoiled. After we paid our bill and were getting ready to leave the waiter brought a glass of champagne for my birthday sister. She didn't want anything now, especially since we were leaving. On the way out James Battaglieri, director, food & beverage, asked my 89 year old mother how she liked dinner? SHE TOLD HIM! He said he doesn't like balloons and he let the more experienced waiters go and hired new, young ones. He said he was trying to train them, but they "can't walk or talk yet". The next birthday in December we'll try Fresh Cream, definitely not Terrace Grill.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ps2pw, Guest Relations Manager at Terrace Grill, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
We welcome and appreciate all comments and reviews about our famous hotel and restaurant, and deeply regret any guest visit that is even a little less than excellent. Our Director gave one guest his card, but did not speak to the reviewer. Instead, he offered to speak to the guests at a convenient time of their choosing, but they have chosen not to speak, preferring to write a public review. The long time staff of La Playa Hotel and the Terrace Grill has tremendous pride in our business and respect for our guests. We regret that we were not given the opportunity to resolve this matter in our normal, professional manner. We were prepared to do so, as we always have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.