We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting with Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robata Grill & Sake Bar

Robata Grill & Sake Bar
3658 The Barnyard, Carmel, CA 93923-8731
831-624-2643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice setting with Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to Robatas after we had attended the Monterey Winemakers Celebration because it was in the Barnyard complex. Friends of ours who used to live here said it was one of their favorites so we gave it a try. The waitress was very accommodating and attentive and the overall atmosphere (outside by the fire) was very relaxing. We started with the miso soup a nice salad and a plate of sushi which was very fresh. For dinner we had grilled scallops with BBQ rice and glazed salmon with steamed rice. Both very good selections. The flavors were fresh not overpowering and the iced tea was awesome. The décor and ambience is Japanese and they are pet friendly. We were the only ones outside without our dog. The price was VERY affordable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service and fresh sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went with kids for dinner. They have good kids portions and the fish was very fresh! Particularly good was the Uni from Santa Barbara.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Traditional Japanese in a pretty setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great Japanese food, friendly and prompt service. Lots of nooks for couples or foursomes, plus larger tables for groups. Very Japanese in its decor and ambience. The location in a small shopping center is pleasant, and there is plenty of parking close at hand, a plus in Carmel. Food that's fresh and good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved our evening here. Fun, friendly service. Family friendly. Great Japanese food. Our son ate his body weight in udon!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kanpai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I really like this place. I go when there is a Giants baseball game on and enjoy watching it with knowledgable people and great sushi. What more can you ask for? Oh yeah Japanese beer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robata Grill & Sake Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Robata Grill & Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robata Grill & Sake Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.