We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best meals in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
101 Crossroads Blvd. (Rio Rd.), Crossroads Shopping Center, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 5436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 3:00PM.
Whittier, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best meals in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

we went there twice, good basic food, and fairly priced, we don't go for overly spiced food, and found them to have excellent food and good variety

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    127
    104
    31
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Ribs 101 - Must have been Absent for Class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Four of us visit Carmel regularly for Auto Week in August. I seem to be the restaurant chooser. Last year 6 of us ate at The Rio Grill and as I recall our meal and service were good.

This year for one of our 8 evenings in Carmel I chose this restaurant again for 4 of us.

Nice people, pleasant server. The 2 men in our party ordered the "ribs". I was saddened as I watched my husband and his friend "sawing" through the ribs to try to extract the meat from them. "Fall off the bone" could in no way describe the ribs here. Truly I feel that the ribs should have been sent back with the explanation that they were verging on inedible ... But we didn't want to further ruin the evening.

All to say, even I, as a relatively experienced home cook, know that to make tasty "fall off the bone ribs" the ribs must be steamed, simmered or precooked by some other slow cooking method before they are grilled ... These ribs were apparently just flapped on the grill raw and had some generic sauce slapped on them at the end of the minimal cooking time and then straight to the customers plate.

We won't be going back next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magical Monday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous grilled pork, apparently a Monday night special, that was served with bi- color string beans, grilled mushrooms, peppery polenta and a yummy blue cheese sauce. Bottled wines were 1/2 price on the Monday night we visited, an unexpected bonus!

Lively southwestern atmosphere and helpful and prompt staff have resulted in repeat business from us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“great caesar salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and were seated immediately. Server and other staff were very attentive. We ordered caesar salads and I made a special request to have the skirt steak added to the salad and which was no problem. The lettuce was very fresh and delicious. Probably will go back for another. We have eaten here before with friends and all of the items ordered were great. I highly recommend the Rio Grill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Reliable, Casual, Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a good place to have fun. You can draw on the table (on white paper coverings), order fancy drinks, make a little noise without fear of horrified glances from diners or waiters, and generally relax with friends and family. Better than average food and a more than decent wine list. Your life won't be changed, but you'll have a nice, casual dinner and leave full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.