We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
101 Crossroads Blvd. (Rio Rd.), Crossroads Shopping Center, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 5436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 3:00PM.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just strolled into this place as it looked like an easy place to get some simple food and while I wasn't wrong the food was much better than I had expected, it was delicious and well presented. The wait staff were friendly and efficient.
I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone really, it had a very broad menu and the food was great

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    126
    103
    31
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent foods. . Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This place was busy , crowded and had a great vibe on the Saturday night we visited. Best food we have had in Carmel. Great service, too. Duck breast with tamale was a fabulous mix of flavors. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I've only been here once, but the experience was fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best resraunt in Carmel, service very tentative, food was amazing, everything was very clean and the GM "Joe Valencia" is amazing. FIVE STARS...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We saw a lot of locals eating and celebrating birthdays here, so that was the first sign of a place with good food.
I tried the crispy pork shank per other reviews....it was excellent. I usually have a tough time finding a nice place to eat in the Carmel/Monterey area, so this place was a pleasant surprise. Service was excellent as was their drink selection.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not at all what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the reviews, we thought we would enjoy Rio Grill. Let me just say the most fun part of our meal was the crayons on the table. It was busy, but we were seated right away. Good sign. Or so I thought. I ordered the fish special. it arrived COLD and BLAND. The broccoli and cauliflower mix of grilled veggies was more than cold. I swear they were just defrosted! Husband had the chicken and it was also bland. My youngest daughter had the ribs and they were so tough we couldn't even cut them with a knife. Forget chewing them.

For the price we expected more.

Pass the salt, please.

**I gave it 2 stars because it was a clean place. And the waiter was friendly and polite. And because they have crayons.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.