We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a Local!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
101 Crossroads Blvd. (Rio Rd.), Crossroads Shopping Center, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 5436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 3:00PM.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Recommended by a Local!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was in Carmel for business and this was recommended by a local. Excellent! I had the pork loin. The cliente is a little older (60's) but that's Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    126
    103
    31
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Busy restaurant which is always a good sign. Had good reviews on yelp so we gave it a try. Were going to bring our own wine in but they have a $20 corkage fee so not worth it.
Empanada appetizer was delish! I had the short rib and could have licked my plate clean if I had the room. Every part of it was good. My friend had the ahi tuna special which needed a bit more spice but was also good.
Wait staff were all very friendly and so was the hostess. Because of how busy it was, it was very loud.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good food but somewhat pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

They have an excellent salad and the homemade ice cream is also quite good. The staff is nice and attentive. The location has a good atmosphere but it is quite noisy at times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best Value in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love this place. When we are in town we always have dinner here one night. Food is excellent and the decor is artsy and witty.
Prices can't be beat for the quality. It's in a mall!!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“that's where the locals go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

very good food & good service. All in all it is very busy there, the decor (especially the wall painting) is not my favorite at all, but if you sit at the right side of the table you don't have to look at it :-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, General Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review. We are constantly striving to improve our restaurant and your affirmations mean a lot to our hard work.
Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Joe Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;