We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sun room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Ocean Ave AT Monte Verde St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 622-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful sun room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful food and service. The location is ideal when staying at Tally Ho or Pine Inn. Good for lunch or dinner

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    72
    50
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a wonderful meal. The roasted heirloom tomato soup would make Ina Garten beg for the recipe. The pizza's were crisp and light and wonderful and the pasta was home made and amazing. My new carmel favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliments, we look forward to taking care of you again soon. -Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Buffet breakfast was ample and tasty but the same every morning. We had dinner there on 2 of 3 nights and it was excellent. The staff is very friendly, eager to please and attentive but not intrusive. Prices are reasonable for California -- especially Carmel. We would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm review. We're glad you enjoyed your visits and hope to see you again. mille grazie, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have eaten at their various locations thought out the Bay Area and like this one best for their extra attention to the little ones in your party and for its more laid back atmosphere. The food is consistent-- pizza is great, bread super yummy and the pastas are made to order

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your warm review. We're glad we're your favorite. Please keep coming and having a great time. We appreciate your loyalty. All the best, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good as usual !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was the 3rd different Il Fornaio that I visit and once again I was very happy with the overall experience. Service is very good, the food is great on a reasonable price and the bread is delicious !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Welcome to the Il Fornaio family. We're glad you love us! Thanks so much for your warm review. All the best to you, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.