We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Inn in downtown Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
upstate NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Inn in downtown Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

The Trip Advisor community was right, this is wonderful Inn, and the host and his staff are excellent. We stayed in room 8 which has a kitchen, large "bedroom/living room" and a very spacious bathroom. The heat is provided by a gas fireplace, and made for a romantic mood. In November is was cool enough that the fireplace was used quite a bit,
The kitchen is small, but very function for 2, and well stocked with dishes, cooking utensils and small frig, microwave and a full size stove. It was great for leftovers, and prepping wine and snacks for the evening.
They serve a wonderful breakfast that varies a bit daily as well as a fun wine and snacks in early evening. With the friendly guests and fire in lobby fireplace we stopped in every evening we were there.
It was in very close walking distance to everything and the front desk was very helpful in all the peninsula attaction information. If not for them we would not have visited Point Lobos where we even saw two whales swimming by. The park even loans out binoculars to visitors.
Be sure not to miss Monterrey Aquarium, Scenic Drive, Mission ranch, and sunset on the Pacific. We got rained out a couple times, but had one spectacular sunset !
Only complaints is how expensive all the restaurants are in town, and some were even rude, guess we did not look $$$ enough.

  • Liked — Warm and friendly owner and stagg, great large, quiet, comfortable room, breakfast and afternon wine.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    43
    38
    46
See reviews for
51
151
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

we stayed in a lovely suite- like accommodation with two bedrooms and one bath. our king bed was lush and so comfortable and our granddaughter was thrilled with her own room, with view, TV, VCR, and the most charming bed with trundle bed beside it. Decor was lovely. the people at the inn were attentive and helpful. wine and cakes in the afternoon were especially welcome and they were most gracious in providing juice and/or tea for our granddaughter. While the breakfast was only buffet items and certainly no gourmet affair, there was ample fresh fruit and juices as well as excellent fresh-baked muffins and coffee cake in addition to the home-baked waffles with berry sauce as well as syrup. Since our room was way in the back corner, the lack of air-conditioning didn't bother us as we got the cool ocean breezes at night. The bathroom needed a facelift, but was adequate. Location was excellent, and, although parking is quite limited we did find space on the street. Walking to everything in town was a cinch! We'd certainly return to the Wayfarer for "bang for the buck."

  • Liked — room; location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed at the Wayfarer Inn as part of a touring holiday in California. Although we got less for our money at the Carmel Wayfarer Inn, this is a reflection of the general cost of accommodation in Carmel. The Wayfarer Inn is actually quite good value for Carmel.
We stayed in a room that accomodated our family of 4, though it was quite cramped for all of us. If there are only 2 of you, the room would seem a generous size. The kitchen was well equipped.
Breakfast was very nice - as was the cheese and wine served in the afternoon.
Carmel is very quaint and really charming. If you are looking for something in Carmel, then the Wayfarer Inn would be a good choice. But if you are looking for better value near the Monterey peninsula, consider staying in Salinas.

  • Liked — Carmel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed at the Wayfarer Inn for two nights. It was an okay experience, but nothing special. It bills itself as a bed & breakfast, however it is really just a motel that does a buffet style breakfast. Other issues were that there was no air conditioning. We didn't think this would be a big deal in October, but when we entered our room it was sweltering. We had to sleep with the windows open, and this made it mildly cooler, but so loud. We were woken numerous times during the night (and early in the morning) by people either coming home, talking out on the patio, yelling to each other from room to room, etc. Also, when we first checked in the person minding the desk gave us a piece of "scratch" paper to write down the name of a restaurant, and when we got up to our room we realized it was actually the check-in information for another guest, including their name, address, phone number, and last four digits of their credit card number. Good things about the place included its location, as well as the great wine and cheese evening session.

  • Liked — Wine and cheese evening session
  • Disliked — Motel like feel, no a/c in room, breakfast nothing special, loud
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We had a lot of problems with hotels in the USA. We often found them very dirty and unfriendly whatever the price. This hotel came as a very nice surprise. The room was very large and clean. We had a kitchen that was convenient. People at the front desk were absolutly charming and helpfull. The hotel was also very peaceful and quiet.

We also like the beakfeast buffet.

  • Liked — clean, location, staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Great staff - friendly and helpful. Wine in the evening - great breakfast in the morning - with a nice little patio to sit out on. Clean with a good location.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

My girlfriends kidnapped me after work for a road trip to Carmel by the Sea. My first trip and I was delighted we drove up to a charming B&B with fireplaces in the outdoor courtyard and indoors for breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese. We stayed on the first floor, #10 in the double room with 2 bathrooms and 2 clean beds.
Our rooms looked out both into the courtyard (lit up at night with little lights) and the street. Very quiet and because the weather was cool, we were able to use the portable heaters in the rooms.
Staff were very accomodating and friendly. They took our picture in the morning by the fireplace amidst the blooming flowers. Breakfast and cheese and wine were adequate. Would like to stay again next time I visit.

  • Liked — Location-everything within walking distance. Charming accomodations.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.