We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Please don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is absolutely the WORST place we have ever stayed. The owners (or managers, as they claim to be), refuse to take responsibility for simple expectations like running water and sheets without holes in them. The woman accused my 64 year old mother of being "a liar" about having holes in the bed sheets after i simply notified her about the situation in a very nice way. Instead of apologing for the problem in addition to a lack of running hot water and toilets that flush (so much to ask for, right?), she attacked me. You decide; but I don't recommend it...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    45
    37
    42
See reviews for
46
149
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great location , In heart of downtown. The room is run down, needs a new rug, furniture and TV. The bathroom had a plastic towel rod, hinges were corroded, and the towel shelves were rusted or corroded. There were holes in the plastic curtain and the sheer curtains were not fully hooked. They were quite old. There is no coffee pot. The bed cover & pillows were old and thin. The complementary breakfast is toast, cereal, waffle, juice , coffee. Coffee is weak so if you're used to european grade or Starbucks, bring your own. I couldn't sleep because I felt dirty. The towels were about 3.5 feet long and thin. If you wrapped it around your body, they barely covered your bottom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed in #11. Curtain was torn. Room was old & dirty. There is no coffee machine or microwave. When you turn the bathroom knob to hot water - it resulted in Cold Water and vice versa. I almost severely burned myself. The water was extremely hot. The sink water did not flow out smoothly. I travel with my dog and cover the furniture to protect the hotel but this time it was more about protecting my dog from the dirty furniture.
Bring your own bathroom amenities. Coffee is very weak so if you're used to drinking Peets, you won't like it. It was useless. For breakfast they served all carbs (bread, waffle). Nothing healthy like fruit or oatmeal.
Towels were very small. The plus is its walking distance to town and room 11 has a great view.
Other than that, I couldn't sleep. I stayed here before . I don't know what happened. I won't return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The best thing about the Wayfarer Inn is the location. It's a 10 minute walk from the beach and just a couple of blocks away from the cute town of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Wayfarer's other charms include a gas fireplace in every room (controlled by thermostat), free breakfast (toast, waffles, coffee) every morning, and wine/crackers every evening. The inn is also very close to a supermarket, which came in handy as restaurant-dining in Carmel gets pricey. John at the front-desk was as pleasant as can be, patiently answering all my questions. I'm booking my next stay with Wayfarer ASAP!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have read these reviews. I gave it two stars because I found the owners to be very kind.
Here it is in a nutshell: they do not want to pay anymore than they have to to keep this place running. It felt like if there was a corner to be cut they cut it. Two things struck me right away...one ply toilet paper (weird) even though the packaging says two ply....I mean, seriously, who does that.
I held the towels up to the light and saw how threadbare they were....geez. The rest, well yes it wasn't top notch, but the owners are going to pay a price (no pun intended) for their cheapness.
Everything people have written is true; everybit of it. I think if they invested in just a couple of things: towels, bedding, paint, food....oh wait, I guess that would cost money..:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Rooms were filthy, smelled bad, and it was very loud. Minimal parking, and horribly rude staff.
The woman at check in was unaccomodating to say the least then oddly asked us for some pizza when we ordered in.
Just bizarre.
The place is in a great location, the only reason they are still in business.
They shouldn't be.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The room was filthy, the carpet threadbare, the windows filthy and covered with bird poop, the walls are filthy, in need of paint and plaster where it is cracked and where the towel rack fell out years ago, and the room full of a strange accumilation of furnishings and finishes that fairly span forty or fifty years, Most of it on the cheap side from all periods. the bed smelled of DOG and for what I paid it should have at least smelled like a cheep hooker. The comp wine tasting was fine if one wanted to try the cheapest available at costco w/dry ritz crackers. The breakfast consisted of God awful cawfee and stale wonder bead. upon checkout the "manager" told me that no dogs were allowed in that room. Really? Really! right, almost forgot ~ the sink stopper was broken and the shower was fine, in 1969! The complimentary toiletries were made in China and terrible! Parking is non existent, I had to park a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.