We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful and we weren't expecting much!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awful and we weren't expecting much!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Rooms were filthy, smelled bad, and it was very loud. Minimal parking, and horribly rude staff.
The woman at check in was unaccomodating to say the least then oddly asked us for some pizza when we ordered in.
Just bizarre.
The place is in a great location, the only reason they are still in business.
They shouldn't be.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    87
    46
    41
    48
See reviews for
54
158
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The room was filthy, the carpet threadbare, the windows filthy and covered with bird poop, the walls are filthy, in need of paint and plaster where it is cracked and where the towel rack fell out years ago, and the room full of a strange accumilation of furnishings and finishes that fairly span forty or fifty years, Most of it on the cheap side from all periods. the bed smelled of DOG and for what I paid it should have at least smelled like a cheep hooker. The comp wine tasting was fine if one wanted to try the cheapest available at costco w/dry ritz crackers. The breakfast consisted of God awful cawfee and stale wonder bead. upon checkout the "manager" told me that no dogs were allowed in that room. Really? Really! right, almost forgot ~ the sink stopper was broken and the shower was fine, in 1969! The complimentary toiletries were made in China and terrible! Parking is non existent, I had to park a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Maybe in another city, for half the rates they charge...maybe. Parking is ridiculous- the entire city is metered so you would expect the hotel to have a space for you, they don't, and I got scolded for parking in the registration spot while I looked for another spot- very frustrating. There is no insulation in the walls so you hear everything in the adjoining rooms. In our shower, the faucet was backwards so the hot was cold, and cold was hot. Our room had a kitchenette, and housekeeping did not even clean the coffee pot! We had a fantastic weekend in Carmel, but I would not recommend this hotel, and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband I just spent three nights here and have very mixed reviews. There is very limited parking. If you get into Carmel around six or seven on a weekend night, especially on a Saturday night, you can pretty much be sure you will have to park on the street a good walk away. This can be problamatic with uneven sidewalks, dark streets. If you have any physical type of disablity, do not stay here. If you park out front, you have to move your car once the two hour time zone starts. We got in later on a Saturday night after being out all day, and could not find any parking within a couple blocks of the Inn. We parked in the two spots reserved for check in. There was already one car parked. When we tired to expalin to the night clerk that we could find no other parking spots she was rude and pretty much said too bad, this is Carmel. When we asked who's car was in the second space she said that wasn't the point. It was hers. We ended up having to park our car up a long hill. The room was older... no luggage rack, no tissues, no coffee pot, or way to make coffee in room. The owner did get tissues and luggage rack for us. Also we lost water while taking showers in the afternoon, twice! The owner fixed it, but not good. Court yard pretty, but we will not stay here again, even though owner very nice and apologized for water and rude night clerk.

Room Tip: If you don't mind moving car and not having close parking, this can be an okay place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We liked the neighborhood as it is close to everything. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The rooms need to be updated and aired out as they are a touch musty. Nice that they have continental breakfast in the morning, but if you don't eat grain, there are not many options. We have not tried the wine tasting in the evening. Our room had some specific problems which they were quick to remedy. Fine for the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here after there was no other place available in town that would allow our dog. We were sorely disappointed. OK...granted it was last-minute and the town was packed with people who lost their camping reservations in the area due to the government shut-down, but still...one would think that in this town where the overall atmosphere is of high value ambiance and polished cultural sophistication, that even the lowest cost accommodations would hold some kind of reflection of the town. Here were the low-ilghts of this place: (keep in mind we paid $325 for one night in this place).

* This place is only dog tolerable. Not dog friendly.
* For breakfast, you cannot bring your dog into the breakfast room and you are not allowed to bring your breakfast to your room or the beautiful courtyard seating area....huh??
* The Inn-Keeper, a man who is not very friendly or accommodating, sneezed several times without covering his mouth and it was such a disgusting sight to see him spray his sneeze all over the place.
* There was no air-conditioning.
* The walls are PAPER THIN. We could hear everything going on outside our room. I could hear conversations going on in the patio. I woke up every 20 minutes.
* The windows which open out to the courtyard from the rooms, open put about 15" at the most into the hallways which themselves are tiny.
* The bed was small and uncomfortable. (We got a "King" room but it was a Queen at best)
* The morning breakfast was so blah. Waffles that you make yourself and coffee that was the worst I've had in ages. Most places will leave out some fruit for their guests and coffee, but this place put it away 10 minutes before the breakfast was to be "over". The woman taking care of the breakfast area who I believe to be the co-inn-keeper, said, "there were only 4 people who came to breakfast..." gee...I wonder why.
* No water in the room
* Everything in the room seemed filthy or falling apart or both.
* The bathroom was terrible; cramped, packets of shampoo that you had to tear open, the sink had calcified areas and the towels were scratchy.
* The paint on the walls were peeling. How much would it cost to simply repaint your place?
* The moulding was missing in many parts around the room and made it look so shabby.

Here were the good points:
* The garden's were lovely. I wish we were welcomed to enjoy them while we had breakfast.

Umm....can't think of any other good points.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you stay here only if it is the last place in town and you got a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a great find during our stay in Carmel. It had character and a lovely courtyard garden. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. There was not enough parking and finding somewhere on the road was not easy. Good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.