We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, friendly owners, ask for room away from the stairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Old hotel, friendly owners, ask for room away from the stairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a cute little hotel that has seen a lot of visitors.

The owners are very friendly and and accomodating but don't pay more than $100 via booking.com or discount rental site. The site stated a discount from amost $400 per night down to $95 per night but don't be fooled...it's certainly not worth the full price if that is the case.

Certainly don't snub your nose if stuck in a pickle but don't expect a 4-5 star experience. It is definately a 3.

Don't get a room at the top of the stairs or you will hear everybody going by your room and will likely get people looking in as they pass by the windows.

Continental breakfast is pretty good however and they offer free wine tastings to guests from 6-8pm and not only was the wine good, it wasn't really a tasting as a drinking experience. They give full pours which was perfect because we had dinner reservations in town at 8:30 so a couple glasses of wine was a great way to start us before strolling off to dinner.

Beds are decent.

Room Tip: Don't get room at the top of the stairs. ask for a ground floor if possible for less noise and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    42
    36
    43
See reviews for
47
149
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Some friends and I recently spent nine days in Carmel, staying at the Wayfarer Inn. The staff and owners couldn’t have been more friendly and accommodating. The breakfast in the common room each morning includes waffles, and they serve wine with crackers and dip each afternoon from 4 to 6. It’s a lovely way to meet your fellow vacationers and share tips, not that the staff isn’t full of ideas of places to see or eat, and in the foggy summer the fireplace adds a note of welcome cheer. In nice weather the flower-surrounded patio, again with fireplace, is a wonderful gathering place. My room also had a fireplace and a comfortable king-size bed. The building is old, with both the problems and the charm of an older place, but for my money it’s the best in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Well we arrived a 7 &
There was no one there the office wasnt open & on the door it clearly said it closed at 8 well fortunately they left a key in an envelope & it was the only envelope there & it had the name so we went up to our room it was very clean no dust no nothing is also had a little room that had a small bed wich was great too but could really use some remodleing !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Looks cute from the outside but runned down on the inside. We paid $278 W/Tax for one night with a king sized bed, fireplace, TV. The Fireplace did not work nor did the TV.The receptionist when checking in said that in the door of the office is the 24 hour number of the owner should you have any problems. We were not about to call the owner at 12:30am when we got back to our room upon noticing both did not work. My husband expected a discount. The next morning he went to ask for a discount and the Indian owner said we should of called his 24 maintenance guy posted on the door. We said we were told it was the owner's number and we were not about to call him. Plus everything should be in working order when checking in. The room was OK. It was a corner room but the bed and other furniture were old and creaky. They could use some remodeling. Tiny bathroom, but great hot water though! The breakfast was offered only for two hours between 8-10am. Do it yourself waffles were offered but not enough batter was included to make a full waffle. Sliced bread and English muffins, hard boiled eggs were also there. No fruit that I could see. When we showed up a little before 10am there was not much left of food. When asked for more they said they were closing soon so they had none to offer. My opinion, until it is time to close an owner needs to provide food. Every thing seemed to scream "I use to be a nice hotel but new owners are penny pincher" . Which goes along with how I think those kind of people manage businesses in general. We never did get a discount. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good large rooms.
Good Location
Good WIFI
parking space available every day
Good price
Only improvement was breakfast - could be better - limited choice we stayed in lots of similar places and breakfasts were better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a very disappointing experience at the Inn upon arrival after a long drive. Before checking in we asked to see the room which was very tired, paint peeling, tattered rug, musty smell. The receptionist did not escort us to the room but rather left us on our own to check it out. She then came into the room and accused us of using it as we were sitting atop the bed spread to assess the situation. We went down to the front desk and the rudeness continued. The receptionist told us that because of OUR extreme rudeness that she did not want us as a guest at the hotel and i confirmed that the feeling was mutual.I asked for a deposit refund. She said that i had to speak directly to the owner but he was not available. She said it would not be a problem to refund the deposit as the room could be easily rented. Unfortunately, as she would not call the owner I had to leave the Inn without having this resolved. Subsequently I called the owner and discussed the situation - he refused to refund the deposit. The receptionist did not give him an accurate account of the situation. The owner said that he did not care if i wrote a bad review or reported him to the chamber of commerce. He was rude, did not listen to my situation and told me to pound sand. a very stressful situation for what was a great vacation. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

These days of watching our money closely we like to get out and still get bargains, we were surprsied to get a great deal in Carmel at this place for $89 when we just walked in off the street. The way were greeted so happily and warmly by the lady at the front desk was totally unexpected and welcome considering we'd been travellers for hours on the road. "Diane" told us to unpack and come down for wine hour, and when we did she was a busy bee running around doing stuff but took time to share local stories, from this area for a long time she was a gold mine of fun factoids! She also made a point to tell us Carmel is for romance, so we switched gears, had some fun suggestions from her what to do, what to see, like the sunset! The parking situation not all that good, but from what I heard wasn't just this inn, that is a problem for everyone in this tiny town; the room was very cozy and clean, smelled a bit too much like bleach for us, but we aired it out; admittedly little things not perfect, like half a roll of used toilet paper on the spinner? and no other roll of toilet paper? Went to front desk, but wasn't able to find any, she kept apologizing, went into employee's bathroom and gave us their roll, whcih showed to us they hired responsible, caring staff. Ask Diane to tell the story of Frank Sinatra, why he was never allowed back to Pebble Beach in the 1950's after a memorable AT&T visit! As she said, "it's a hoot!", all that makes up for the little annoying problems we as tired travellers face. We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.