We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just say no!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just say no!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel over the phone on a summer weekend when it was the last property available. And on arriving we discovered why!
The place would actually be quite charming if weren't for the frowsy, bedraggled air that permeates every corner. We arrived just before sunset and there were guests sitting out on the patio with glasses of wine (offered by the hotel). Nice touch, but too bad the wine was such poor quality (I am from California, so I know).
The room itself was highly disappointing, especially since we were paying $180 (plus tax!) for the night!. There are motels that are much more attractive and appealing! The view from our room was lovely, but the windows were so dirty that it was not easy to see it. All furnishings were shabby and worn, and appeared not to have been changed or even refreshed since sometime in the (early) 1980's. The television a) did not work ,and b) will soon be a collectors' item (massive CRT)! The carpet bore numerous holes, stains, and even burn marks. The bed-linens were clean, but old and dilapidated. The bathroom was light and airy, but there was mould between the tiles, the door was filthy, and the shower rod was rusty (!).
This said, the location is perfect. You can walk to Ocean Street and the beach, and there is not that much traffic. The owners are gracious and kind. Structurally, the hotel is well laid-out, with good sized rooms with great views. It just needs a MAJOR renovation. Until then, chose ANY other Carmel property, unless you have dogs (this hotel is pet-friendly, since any damage four-legged friends could cause would simply blend in with the rest of decor) or are desperate and can't find any other place to stay (but brace yourselves!).

Room Tip: Corner rooms upstairs are quieter and have more sunlight and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    46
    40
    48
See reviews for
53
157
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

By far the worst the hotel I've ever stayed in. In fact we lost our non refundable deposit because we refused to stay there. The room was old, dirty, smelled bad, worn out carpet, bed spread had stains ......the fireplace glass was totally fogged to a point you could see only 10% of the fire...I could continue. We left the room and complained ...the desk clerk was nice and offered another room. It was just as bad plus you could hear the people next door. We just left and lost our $150 room deposit.
Thats how bad it was. Found another place 2 blocks away that was very nice for the same money. When I returned home I called to talk to the manager......I was told he would call me back. Never did....so I followed up and still no return call. How a place likes this survives especially in a place like Carmel is really weird. The outside was run down too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very centrally located relatively close to downtown shopping and restaurants.
Large room with King-size bed and fireplace. Had corner room so even got that wonderful cross-ventilation off the bay.
Clean rooms and bathroom, very comfortable bed, pillows and comforter. Rug is rather worn.

Nice continental breakfast, including 'make your own waffles'. Can even eat outside on the patio which has a nice flowery garden, though the patio could use some 'freshening up' as could the rooms and the property. Free wine tasting (really not very good, but what the heck for a couple of glasses upon arrival in the afternoon and too early for dinner)
A few parking spots behind the inn, but enough parking on the street for overnight stay.

Owner (George) is behind the counter and very helpful. But the office does close for the night.

The inn has its own website and is quite a bit cheaper to book there online than on expedia, etc. Get added to their email list and you get apprised of specials too. 70% of the traffic is returns, according to George.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great as you get cross-ventilation. Sorry. forgot the specific room we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very pleasant with an attractive courtyard where guests can relax in the sunshine. The room was clean and well furnished,though an iron and tea/coffee making facility would have been appreciated. The staff were friendly and the evening invitation to complimentary wine tasting was a nice touch. The buffet continental breakfast was sufficient to set you up for the day. The location is convenient for access to Carmel town by foot or car. Hotel parking is limited, but on street parking nearby is available though restrictions apply.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was an interesting place. You would not even know this town was here just by driving by. It is nestled back off the road and is full of surprises. The Hotel was a bit hard to find since the the town does not use address numbers. The Hotel seemed to be a lot like a B&B. I really enjoyed the fireplace in the room. Very fast wifi. It was just a comfortable setting. You are within walking distance from shops and dinning. There is not many street lights so you don't have to worry about much night life (partying and noise). The place was quiet and relaxing. I would stay here again. Only issue I had was there is no one in the office between 8pm & 8am.

Room Tip: This is more like a B&B, so a playground for the kids, pool or a fitness center is not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Okay, the whole place is in need of a major make-over (that should start this year). The rooms are quiet and the beds are good. The prices are reasonable and the management professional and caring. What really separates this place is their happy hour. In the two nights I stayed there I met some fascinating people: one of the last people out of the fall of Vietnam, an olive oil entrepreneur, a professional match maker and a landscape photographer. No need to go out for brain food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Remember, this is Carmel. The pictures look better than the property. It is in desperate need of renovation and cleaning. Room #16 had mold around the windows and on the ceiling in the bathroom. The carpet needs to be stretched. My wife said the mattress had a bad odor. The fireplace is the heat source but the glass is so fogged up that you can't enjoy the fire. The towel bar was removed leaving the hardware exposed. Paint is chipped inside and out. The bathroom fan did not work, and the shower curtain sucked onto the occupant (a problem I haven't had in years). The breakfast is pretty much just waffles. No variety. On the positive side, the desk help were nice enough. The property has a great location, we even had a distant ocean view. Other motel properties that looked marginally better were twice the price, so it all depends on what's important to you and how much time you'll spend in the room. The walls seem thin so in the middle of the week they're fine. The weekend gets busier and noises and doors slamming are going to be a problem.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs. Rooms at the end of the halls are obviously better with fewer shared walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.