We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place in Carmel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Carmel B&B and Inns
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place in Carmel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very centrally located relatively close to downtown shopping and restaurants.
Large room with King-size bed and fireplace. Had corner room so even got that wonderful cross-ventilation off the bay.
Clean rooms and bathroom, very comfortable bed, pillows and comforter. Rug is rather worn.

Nice continental breakfast, including 'make your own waffles'. Can even eat outside on the patio which has a nice flowery garden, though the patio could use some 'freshening up' as could the rooms and the property. Free wine tasting (really not very good, but what the heck for a couple of glasses upon arrival in the afternoon and too early for dinner)
A few parking spots behind the inn, but enough parking on the street for overnight stay.

Owner (George) is behind the counter and very helpful. But the office does close for the night.

The inn has its own website and is quite a bit cheaper to book there online than on expedia, etc. Get added to their email list and you get apprised of specials too. 70% of the traffic is returns, according to George.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great as you get cross-ventilation. Sorry. forgot the specific room we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    83
    45
    36
    37
See reviews for
43
145
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very pleasant with an attractive courtyard where guests can relax in the sunshine. The room was clean and well furnished,though an iron and tea/coffee making facility would have been appreciated. The staff were friendly and the evening invitation to complimentary wine tasting was a nice touch. The buffet continental breakfast was sufficient to set you up for the day. The location is convenient for access to Carmel town by foot or car. Hotel parking is limited, but on street parking nearby is available though restrictions apply.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was an interesting place. You would not even know this town was here just by driving by. It is nestled back off the road and is full of surprises. The Hotel was a bit hard to find since the the town does not use address numbers. The Hotel seemed to be a lot like a B&B. I really enjoyed the fireplace in the room. Very fast wifi. It was just a comfortable setting. You are within walking distance from shops and dinning. There is not many street lights so you don't have to worry about much night life (partying and noise). The place was quiet and relaxing. I would stay here again. Only issue I had was there is no one in the office between 8pm & 8am.

Room Tip: This is more like a B&B, so a playground for the kids, pool or a fitness center is not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Okay, the whole place is in need of a major make-over (that should start this year). The rooms are quiet and the beds are good. The prices are reasonable and the management professional and caring. What really separates this place is their happy hour. In the two nights I stayed there I met some fascinating people: one of the last people out of the fall of Vietnam, an olive oil entrepreneur, a professional match maker and a landscape photographer. No need to go out for brain food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Remember, this is Carmel. The pictures look better than the property. It is in desperate need of renovation and cleaning. Room #16 had mold around the windows and on the ceiling in the bathroom. The carpet needs to be stretched. My wife said the mattress had a bad odor. The fireplace is the heat source but the glass is so fogged up that you can't enjoy the fire. The towel bar was removed leaving the hardware exposed. Paint is chipped inside and out. The bathroom fan did not work, and the shower curtain sucked onto the occupant (a problem I haven't had in years). The breakfast is pretty much just waffles. No variety. On the positive side, the desk help were nice enough. The property has a great location, we even had a distant ocean view. Other motel properties that looked marginally better were twice the price, so it all depends on what's important to you and how much time you'll spend in the room. The walls seem thin so in the middle of the week they're fine. The weekend gets busier and noises and doors slamming are going to be a problem.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs. Rooms at the end of the halls are obviously better with fewer shared walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 days at the Carmel Wayfarer Inn and could not have been happier with our experience and stay.

For a very reasonable price we had a large, very quiet and very comfortable room (#18) with a fireplace and view of the ocean. The location is great, two blocks from Ocean Ave., the main downtown corridor.

We walked to the beach and to several restaurants downtown. The management, Michael and John, were very pleasant and helpful.

Other than a free limo, a joke, the place was very, very nice and we certainly plan to stay there when we visit again in the hopefully near future,

John and Sachiko, Bay Area California

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs ocean view room, although all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First Impressions: Quaint. Nice outdoor fireplace on patio. Efficient, if not personable check-in on a Friday evening. Room old, bed tired, bathroom musty.
Saturday morning: bathroom flooded from shower above; floor soaked, not enough towels to cope. Saturday evening complained to front desk and was given many towels to deal with flood.
Sunday morning check out: complained about flood and asked for discount. Was offered $30.00. Said I would not have stayed there if I had known about flood before hand. Was offered $50.00. Still not happy as flood was due to unsanitary water from bathroom above. Said I would not come back. Told that that was fine with him. Told I should have complained earlier (not possible because reception is closed and locked from 8pm to 8am) as I would have been given a different room. I pointed out that they were sold out both nights. Desk countered by saying I would have been switched with another guest!!!
Got bill. No $50 discount. No $30 discount. No discount at all.
State of ceiling where flood entered room: Room number 4 no doubt has been flooding for a long time. Ceiling is heavily painted, cracked and bulging. The floor where the flood pools has black mildew.
Conclusion: Dishonest and disrespectful operator. Suspect we got room 4 as we booked late. Suspect we over paid in spite of flood problem.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms probably safe from floods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel
Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.