We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Place with Carmel Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Wayfarer Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Mountain View, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfy Place with Carmel Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times in the last few years and it's gotten better! It's a cute, traditional Carmel getaway. Our room had a fireplace, which made it even more cozy, since Carmel can be a bit chilly in the winter (OR summer!).
We also took advantage of their breakfast, which was pretty good - cereal, bagels, toast, juice, etc., and served in a really cute dining area.
This place is very close to downtown, so you can leave your car and stroll through town easily. It also has a nice patio area, great for relaxing and beginning or ending your day.
I'd definitely stay there again - I have such nice memories of our stays there!

Room Tip: Of course, the rates off-season are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    43
    38
    46
See reviews for
51
151
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night only but I have to say that we loved the place. We had a friendly welcome. We loved the general style of the place. We did find it hard to locate however, even with a satnav. The lady on the desk was able to give us information regarding good places to eat and drink and they were good recommendations too! Breakfast in the morning was good. Overall a nice stay, shame it wasn't longer and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I'm in line with the other "average" reviews here. Good value but the place could be vastly improved with a little attention/investment. We booked with an online service clearly needing a room for a couple plus teenager, but we had to ask for the rollaway and then carry it ourselves to our 2nd floor room, which had a slightly musty smell (from the comforter and sham pillows). The old toilet could not really do its job. The lobby is only open from 8 am - 8 pm, so a small coffee maker in the room (standard in most places along the coast) would be welcomed. Although wireless Internet is advertised, it's only available in the lobby and supposedly in the outdoor garden, but I suspect it was turned off after 8 pm. There's a nice gas fireplace in the garden but it too gets turned off at 8. A staffed lobby until 10 would be a plus. I found breakfast nondescript. Nice aspects: the property is is in a great, very quiet uphill area, but still walkable to the main street. We had a large room and slept very well; good black-out curtains. Nice shower and hot water. Wine and snacks in the afternoon. In summary, overall OK but with so many choices in Carmel, next time I'll definitely try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Very good value and friendly. Not fancy but everything you need. Restaurants close by.

One really nice thing was that we washed some of our clothes (no washing facilities available) and hung them around the bath. When we got back, the maid had taken them away and dried them for us. Nice touch, tells you about the place

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The place had charm. It was romantic. It was comfortable. The rooms were spacious - even an extra bedroom. We enjoyed our fireplace on the first evening. It is close to where you want to be. The complementary breakfast was first-rate/first-class. The owners were warm, friendly, and interesting to talk to. The wine tasting was the perfect way to top it all off. O yeah, it was a great price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

good place,nice staff,very accomadating.Lots of parking,5 mins to Carmel,free wine from 4-5pm,whats not to like?!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My girlfriend and I have recently returned from an amazing tour around America, where we began in Las Vegas moving onto Los Angeles and driving up to San Francisco before heading over to the east coast.

During the planning of our 3 week trip we, like most used experiences and recommendations of friends and family along with various websites such as this. Everyone we had spoken to along with articles we had read recommended stopping off in the lovely picturesque Carmel-By-The-Sea. We took this advice and after much research we settled on the Carmel Wayfarer Inn.

We arrived fairly late having been diverted away from route 1 due to a landslide to discover everything was locked up and our key stuck to the door of reception, which as it was late was understandable. On entering the room it looked dated and very much like an OAP's home, including the smell. We both got ready for bed only to peel back the covers to be greeted by not one but two rather long hairs coiled up in the centre of the bed. They were different colours and thickness so belonged to two different people (pictures to follow). This left us both incredibly reluctant to actually use this bed as we questioned the cleanliness but as there were only one sheet separating us from the mattress and one from the thicker wool top blanket which meant we were unable to remove either. Due to the timing there was no one to contact to replace the bedding or change room so once the welcoming gifts were removed we tried to settle down and get some sleep.

The following morning after what wasn't a great night’s sleep we raised the issue with a lady at reception who just sat there with a vacant look on her face as we explained our discomfort at having to sleep in a dirty bed. At this point she claimed she had to 'make a call' to get to the bottom of it, so after breakfast which was ok (my first waffle iron experience) we returned to question her progress. She pretty much dismissed the whole episode and said they required an email explaining what had happened along with the pictures taken, which was done without response.

So here is our tale so you don’t make the same mistake. The car would've been a better option.

Carmel itself was definitely worth the stop being everything you would expect from a quaint little town with the added bonus a truly beautiful beach.

S & H

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Wayfarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.