We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katy's Place

Katy's Place
Mission Street between 5th and 6th, PO Box 7467, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 0199
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Modesto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great breakfast menu and outdoor seating was very nice. Service started off very slow, but they somewhat redeemed themselves once they actually took our order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    113
    37
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The most awesome breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found out about Katy's Place through Trip Advisor and thought it warranted a visit. We were so glad we did! Over our nearly 3 week vacation in California and Nevada this was easily the best breakfast we had. I have never seen a breakfast menu so long and it wasn't a surprise that there was a constant stream of customers through the door. We only had one day in Carmel but had we had more, Katy's would have been our breakfast spot every day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

huge menu, tons of people, great little place in Carmel-by-the-Sea. I had a waffle absolutely covered in fresh strawberries. I also enjoyed a taste of a delicious omelette and had great, prompt service despite the huge crowd. I wish I would have had more room for a biscuit as I only tried mine. Delish!
I love this cozy, bust, bustling spot with it's total Carmel vibe. Sadly, we went on our last day there--I'd have revisited.

**cash only**

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful and filling breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Katy's has a menu that is larger then the standard breakfast fare and so are the portions. My husband and I shared on of the many benedicts because they are all three eggs and three English muffin halves. Think about sharing if you can as no ne around us was able to finish their plates. There is outside dining on the porch and dogs are welcome there. Service was friendly. Overall an excellent way to start the morning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Remarkable in PRICE not in taste or quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First, the restaurant only takes cash. Our bill for 3 seafood omelets, one western omlet and 2 diet cokes plus tip was over $100 (yes, one hundred dollars). Had this been a WOW breakfast, we would have been fine with the price.

The featured ingredients of the seafood omelet were lobster, shrimp, and crab. Being on the CA coast and at a highly recommended restaurant specializing in breakfast, we expected fresh ingredients. Not so. The shrimp were tiny, canned salad shrimp. The crab was tough (never knew crab could be tough). The lobster bites were few, but the best of the three ingredients. This omelet cost over $20 EACH. It would have been better priced at 3 for $20.

I'm not sure what was "off" in our second son's western omelet, but he ate only half of it. Had made no comment.

The service was slow and when we were finally offered refills on our cokes, the coke was poured from a glass and not a pitcher. I have no idea where that refill glass came from.

Perhaps, our mistake was ordering BIG based on a BIG reputation. This meal was remarkable only in how much it cost versus how much it was really worth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's Place also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Katy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katy's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.