We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Huge Portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katy's Place

Katy's Place
Mission Street between 5th and 6th, PO Box 7467, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 0199
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Texas
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Huge Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Breakfast this morning at Katy's Place, based on various reviews. It was very busy but we were able to get seating right away at the counter. That was fun as we could watch the kitchen at work! My lady ordered an omelette, while I had the hash and eggs. Both were excellent, as was the coffee and fresh grapefruit juice. Friendly, efficient service. Not cheap but the portions were so large that neither of us ate anything until dinner - about nine hours later! Be sure to have cash as it is a cash only business. If you do have to wait - it is well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    115
    37
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calistoga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family visits this restaurant very time we visit Carmel and it has a great breakfast. We have ordered waffles, pancakes, omelets, and just eggs and everything has tasted great! It is popular so you have to go early or you will have to wait for a seat, but it is well worth it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Katy's is the perfect breakfast spot in Carmel. It was so good we went there for breakfast again the following day and were equally impressed. The service was quick and friendly. We went during the week and didn't have to wait for a table but I can imagine there would be a queue at the weekend. The breakfast menu is extensive with around 15 different eggs benedict dishes, as well as an excellent selections of eggs, pancake, french toast dishes etc. I tried the classic eggs benedict and Katy's eggs benedict, both of which were delicious. The portions are huge so you definitely get good value for money. If you are looking for a hearty breakfast in Carmel before a day of wine tasting look no further than Katy's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A must-do in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Breakfast doesn't get better than this, but be prepared to wait in line on busy weekends. Worth the wait.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

So many yummy choices. I had the Basque omelet that was beautifully presented and tasty. The potatoes were absolutely delicious. My husband had the pancakes which devoured. We had such a great breakfast that we are going back this morning for a repeat performance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's Place also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Katy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katy's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.