We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Omelette!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katy's Place

Katy's Place
Mission Street between 5th and 6th, PO Box 7467, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 0199
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 149 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lobster Omelette!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Read the great reviews, and wanted to try Katy's Place for breakfast. I'm glad we did. The service was excellent. The food was amazing, the lobster omelette was the best omelette I ever had, with large chunks of lobster. Yum! It was a bit cramped inside, but when the food came, we didn't even notice. There is also outdoor seating to take advantage of on a nice day. It's a cash only establishment, so be prepared. Definitely going back to Katy's Place the next time we're in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    109
    37
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Worth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There must be a dozen different eggs benedict choices but it's the pancakes & waffles that are the biggest & best. The portions are HUGE! Be prepared to wait as this is a very popular breakfast/brunch spot. Also it is cash only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring An Appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Is this the best breakfast ever? Well, no it's not, but it is really, really good, especially if you are an Eggs Benedict junkie. Having read the reviews, we rolled in at 7:05am and were the second table in the place. The service was excellent; the food was very well prepared, and served fairly quickly. The portions are enormous, even by US standards, so be prepared, my European friends.....

Was it expensive? Yes it was. Was it worth it? For me, yes it was. I had the absolute best Huevos Rancheros I have ever tasted, and my daughter pronounced the pancakes as "to die for". My wife loved her eggs and actually went back to the counter to try and learn a trick or two by watching the guys crank them out. One caveat: Be prepared to either walk for a few hours afterwards or pass out for the rest of the day. We drove over to Point Lobos and spent the rest of the morning on the trails, so no worries there.

Would I go back? Heck yeah, but I'd eat a light supper the night before.

By the time we left, the place was full and so were we.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum-E!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

One of the best breakfasts I had while on holiday. You are seated & served quickly, the staff are friendly, food is fantastic and prices were reasonable (for Carmel!) varying from about $10 - $18 for more exotic specials. My husband had pancakes with cream and fresh fruit, and I had potato pancakes with smoked salmon, and both were flawless! Well cooked and beautifully presented.

If we find ourselves back in Carmel, we will definitely make sure we're there in morning so we can have breakfast at Katy's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Big Portions, Big Prices, and Leave your Pooch at Home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We choose Katy's for breakfast because they have an outdoor patio and were indicated on the Carmel tourist map as dog friendly. Unfortunately that means small, lap dogs only. We tied out puppy up on the outside of the patio, got a table and ordered our meal. The specialty of the house is Eggs Benedict served several different ways. We ordered one dish to share and swapped the potatoes for a fruit salad. Even so, I thought the portions were enormous so this is a good place to go if you have a really big appetite. The hollandaise sauce was unfortunately tasteless and smothered the eggs, ham and muffins. This is a cash only place and I thought $30 plus tip for what we got was not a good value. The service is friendly and prompt so if you are dog-less and really hungry you might really like this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's Place also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Katy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katy's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.