We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring An Appetite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katy's Place

Katy's Place
Mission Street between 5th and 6th, PO Box 7467, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 0199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bring An Appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Is this the best breakfast ever? Well, no it's not, but it is really, really good, especially if you are an Eggs Benedict junkie. Having read the reviews, we rolled in at 7:05am and were the second table in the place. The service was excellent; the food was very well prepared, and served fairly quickly. The portions are enormous, even by US standards, so be prepared, my European friends.....

Was it expensive? Yes it was. Was it worth it? For me, yes it was. I had the absolute best Huevos Rancheros I have ever tasted, and my daughter pronounced the pancakes as "to die for". My wife loved her eggs and actually went back to the counter to try and learn a trick or two by watching the guys crank them out. One caveat: Be prepared to either walk for a few hours afterwards or pass out for the rest of the day. We drove over to Point Lobos and spent the rest of the morning on the trails, so no worries there.

Would I go back? Heck yeah, but I'd eat a light supper the night before.

By the time we left, the place was full and so were we.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    132
    42
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum-E!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

One of the best breakfasts I had while on holiday. You are seated & served quickly, the staff are friendly, food is fantastic and prices were reasonable (for Carmel!) varying from about $10 - $18 for more exotic specials. My husband had pancakes with cream and fresh fruit, and I had potato pancakes with smoked salmon, and both were flawless! Well cooked and beautifully presented.

If we find ourselves back in Carmel, we will definitely make sure we're there in morning so we can have breakfast at Katy's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Big Portions, Big Prices, and Leave your Pooch at Home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We choose Katy's for breakfast because they have an outdoor patio and were indicated on the Carmel tourist map as dog friendly. Unfortunately that means small, lap dogs only. We tied out puppy up on the outside of the patio, got a table and ordered our meal. The specialty of the house is Eggs Benedict served several different ways. We ordered one dish to share and swapped the potatoes for a fruit salad. Even so, I thought the portions were enormous so this is a good place to go if you have a really big appetite. The hollandaise sauce was unfortunately tasteless and smothered the eggs, ham and muffins. This is a cash only place and I thought $30 plus tip for what we got was not a good value. The service is friendly and prompt so if you are dog-less and really hungry you might really like this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“With three you have eggs Benedict”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Breakfast and lunch was never so easy. Husband and pooch in tow lead us to a house of large gooey warm cinnamon rolls and every possible combination of eggs Benedict possible. Lobster, crab, salmon, spinach and traditional ham to name a few. Country fried spuds on the plate, cottage cheese and fruit on the side ' to die for girlfriend'. Hot chocolates has whipped cream to the sky, and if you are real lucky, the hostess will bring bacon for fido. Bring CASH and come early or later or expect to wait in the scattered Carmel sun breaks and sip complementary coffee. They even have little water pump games for little fingers when they finally get to the table. Ps the steak is also tasty. Oh fido sits outside only and it can be chilly....it is Carmel folks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Long wait, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a long wait but it was worth it. Also a little pricy for breakfast but I had wonderful French toast with cinnamon on top, so very yum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's Place also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Katy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katy's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.