We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service”
Review of Forge in the Forest Restaurant

Fifth Ave and Junipero Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-2233
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #60 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue
Transit: MST stops on Junipero Ave, half block from restaurant
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    78
    78
    46
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Forge in the Forest Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Eating on the patio here is a relaxing fun experience. We enjoyed sharing an artichoke before good short ribs and pasta loaded with delicious lobster. We had a great server who gave us a taste of another pinot noir she recommended and was lively and bubbly, adding to the experience. Enjoyed and so went back for happy hour another day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great outdoor patio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a great lunch outdoors on the patio a few days ago. It was a little cool, but the heat lamps were all going. Flowers are still blooming, so it was pretty outside. Dogs were welcome at the ends or sides of the tables.
My husband and I shared a Reuben sandwich and cole slaw, as the portions were rather large. It was quite good, although I wouldn't say it was the best meal I've ever had. The atmosphere was great, the food was good, the waiter was attentive, and the prices were reasonable, for being in Carmel! I'd go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A tremendous disappointmnet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We returned to Forge in the Forest after our charmed experience back in 2006, when we first brought our four-legged son to dine here. Unlike our last experience, this one is an absolute disappointment. First, there are no longer doggie treats on the table for the pooches. Secondly, the human food is at the quality level of a Denny's (in fact, for the price, I'd much prefer Denny's). Third, it took about 20 minutes to get some bread for the table and a whopping 45 minutes to get our food (for a table full of kids, it's not acceptable). Lastly, the cost was extraordinary - we spent more money here for mediocre food than fresh-from-the-sea food from Passionfish in Pacific Grove! The only redeeming aspect of the experience was that our server tried hard to be accommodating - though he was spread thin and there wasn't much he could do about the pace the food was coming out of the kitchen. Don't waste your time or your money here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unenthusiastic Diners”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

From soups and salads to desert...there was a marked lack of anything special...except for the service. It was surprising to find that this was the case, because we had preconceived notions about how spectacular this would be. It wasn't, and we would never go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasteless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I gave this place 2 stars - one for their dog friendliness and another one for the pleasant and smiling waiter. I ordered the French onion soup and a Caesar salad. The soup looked very appetizing but whatever cheese was baked on top tasted extremely bland. The salad was a more than ample portion. No ground pepper brought to the table so I simply added my own. I have never, ever, been served such a tasteless Caesar salad in my entire life! It was awful. I could not eat it. Our poodles, on the other hand, had no problem attacking the hamburger we ordered for them from the doggy menu. (Extremely greasy but they didn't care).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forge in the Forest Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Forge in the Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forge in the Forest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.