We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anton & Michel

Anton & Michel
Court of the Fountains, Mission Street, Between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921-4917
831 624 2406
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anton & Michel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mission Street between Ocean & 7th.
Fremont, California
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent service, Bert, the Maitre D, greeted us within minutes of walking in & took us to our window table by the fountain. Tiffani, our waitress, congratulated us on our 25th wedding anniversary and made us feel special. I had the Kobe beef short ribs that were so tender and juicy the meat was easily cut with a fork, my wife had the filet mignon, which she liked, but she actually liked the Kobe better. We didn't finish our meal, so we'd have room for the flaming dessert. Tiffani recommended the Bananas Foster, which she prepared at tableside, the smell and taste of the liqueur, was the perfect ending to a perfect dinner on our special day. Tiffani & Bert made us feel welcome, you can tell it was genuine, Merci Beaucoup We'll be Back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    82
    28
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you look at my reviews, you will see that I rarely hand out 5 stars. Tonight was such an occasion.

We received a recommendation of this restaurant from our hotel concierge. We were not disappointed.

Swank interior with a nice view of a pool and fountain. There were people dresses to the nines, but we were still welcome in our our less than perfection dress.

Service was excellent, prompt, and constant.

The kids were pleased with the sour dough bread, salad, and French onion soup. The wife was in heaven with tuna tartar. I was very pleased with the Barramundi entree.

Prices are a little stiff, but it is Carmel. It was worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

On our first night in Carmel we were exhausted and not pleased by our hotel. Finding this restaurant was a nice ending to a tough travel day. We booked through Open Table, but could have walked right in on a Tuesday night the first week in August. The service was excellent. Husband had scallops with shrimp and pasta, with iceberg wedge with artichoke dressing. I had a filet, which normally comes with shrimp/cheese but I just wanted the filet and they were very accommodating. I had onion soup for my starter which was delicious. Husband had a house wine and total bill was 100.00 which was well worth it. We had a lovely table by the window which overlooks a charming courtyard. Waitstaff is obviously well experienced and the service was faultless. We would have had dessert as it was a lovely menu, but jet lag kicked in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another bad day for the chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

There were 4 of us and we all ordered the onion soup and the filet mignon: while the soup was good although on the salty side, the meat was actually inedible- chewy, hard and with an aftertaste and the garlic mashed potato was way too salty to eat. The result was that all 4 of us were unable to eat our plates and we sent them back. Although they did take off 15 percent off our check, it was an overall unpleasant experience and most certainly a missed opportunity for the restaurant. So would not recommend it ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Elegant, romantic dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a wonderful, attentive meal. Fabulous table side preparation of Caesar salad, rack of land and cherries jubilee. Looking for a spectacular way to celebrate? Classic, elegant presentation not to be missed for special occasions in heart of Carmel.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton & Michel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Anton & Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anton & Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.