We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anton & Michel

Anton & Michel
Court of the Fountains, Mission Street, Between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921-4917
831 624 2406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anton & Michel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mission Street between Ocean & 7th.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We decided to go here on our last night. W sat at the bar. The bartender was so accommodating. The food was more than delicious! Sitting ere relaxing with wine and great food was the perfect ending to our trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of the best in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped here for a quiet lunch & were taken by surprise that the restaurant had no other guests. We shared an appetizer of duck pate & brie. Then came a perfectly prepared serving of the classic French onion soup. This was absolutely delicious. Best I’ve ever had. Found from the waiter that the restaurant has been serving this classic dish for 34 years. Also enjoyed a glass of McInty Pinot Noir. Marvelous lunch. Hope to return for dinner soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and a great remodeled dining room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were visiting Carmel from San Francisco a few months back and decided to re-visit one of our favorites: Anton and Michel. We hadn't been in a little over a year and were quite surprised when we walked in. We have always loved the food and service here and love our favorite waiter, Rene, and server Chava (sp?) and of course their gracious hosts. The place itself had always been a little bit old fashioned in its decorations though. Now it is breathtaking, they re-vamped the whole atmosphere and made it more elegant, a little more modern, and a little more pleasing to the eye.
The food is still the same great meals and I can't help but order the Kobe beef short ribs every time I go there. They are just so decadent. We also love the table side caesar salad and table side flambe' desserts.
We definitely recommend this restaurant to any travelers in the area and are going to continue to visit every time we are in town. This is a place where they are genuinely interested in your satisfaction and aren't rushing you out of there trying to seat another party. They encouraged us stay as long as we liked and we did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful dining room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were looking for a place to have lunch, after a glorious morning hiking at Point Lobos. We arrived for lunch at 1:30 on a Monday (they serve until 2:30) and had the place almost to ourselves, so our service was excellent! We'd heard they recently remodeled and hired a new chef. The decor is beautiful - warm and inviting. (My husband wants to come back to sit by the fireplace in their bar area.) We sat at a table overlooking the courtyard of fountains. The floor to ceiling windows add to what might otherwise be an overly dark atmosphere. We had the tomato/basil soup (delicious), the iceberg wedge gorgonzola salad with bacon (really good as well, although I would probably ask for the dressing on the side next time), a bowl of French Onion Soup (tasty and not overly salty) and the Nicoise Seared Ahi Tuna Salad, which was definitely the star of the meal. The tuna was sesame-crusted and seared to perfection, served with a beautiful array of beans, cucumber, hard boiled eggs, and pickled ginger etc. We didn't have dessert because we were saving room for dinner (eating was the focus of our vacation!), but thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate out every night on this trip and returned to Anton & Michel for the ambiance, food, and service. Tiffany was a wonderful, friendly server with a ready laugh. It was as if we were dining with old friends. The duck in the cherry sauce is awesome!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton & Michel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Anton & Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anton & Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.