We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anton & Michel

Anton & Michel
Court of the Fountains, Mission Street, Between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921-4917
831 624 2406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anton & Michel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mission Street between Ocean & 7th.
Stockton, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first time at Anton & Michel. We enjoyed it very much. The restaurant looks out on the fountains and patio courtyard. We were seated at a table directly in front of the window, but it looked like the restaurant was designed to have mostly all good views of the beautiful courtyard.

Our waiter was pleasant and not pushy. We started with the smoked salmon appetizer - awesome! I could have eaten that and been satisfied! I ordered the short rib for my dinner and really enjoyed it as well. My partner ordered the barramundi and thoroughly enjoyed it. We finished with a berry creme brulee. Overall, it was a great meal.

The restaurant was not crowded on a Friday (12/28) which surprised me a little. It was very quiet dining as other reviews have noted.

It is on the more expensive side. Our total for the meal described above, with a modest bottle of wine, was $160 before tip for two people. I enjoyed the restuarant, but will not make it a "go-to" spot for us. There are less expensive places with food that is just as good, or better, and with a better atmosphere.

Slight side note: We frequently visit Carmel (4 to 6 times a year) over the last 5 years. We began visiting Carmel because I got a dog and we wanted a place to go where he could come with us everywhere. Anton & Michel say they are "dog friendly" however it is safe to say they are not. There is a patio, yes, but I have never (not even in good weather) been able to dine with my dog on the patio. I have never seen the patio being used during lunch or dinner. They do not have heat lamps and therefore are unable to serve dinner on the patio comfortably during many months of the year. If the restaurant were more up front about the fact that they are not truly dog friendly, I would have given a better rating. I would have rated 'excellent' if they were more up front/honest about their dog friendliness (or not).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    40
    12
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet, elegant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were here in December and had an early reservation with OpenTable. The place was nearly deserted but did start to fill up as we were getting ready to leave. The house specialty rack of lamb was truly delicious, but my partner's meal was rather forgettable. The service was attentive, although it could perhaps have been a little more personal, seeing how we were one of the few people in the place at that time. We like next door Andre's Bouchee better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old school Carmel at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

A perfect place to celebrate my husbands birthday. We went for all of the table side presentations. The Caesar salad, rack of lamb and cherries jubilee. What fun! Can't get service like this anywhere else. Beautiful patio and pool to look out at. Don't miss it for those special occasions!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Judging by the other reviews and our recent experience, dining at Anton & Michel's is very hit or miss. It shouldn't be at these prices (the wine list especially so at three times retail, and the corkage $25), Our experience in a nutshell: very good Rack of Lamb and incompetent service.
The restaurant was almost empty, but three of the four occupied and too close together tables were adjacent to each other, which not only emphasized the lack of custom but resulted in in heavy traffic; and the waiter both presumptuous and, other than trying to empty the wine bottle as quickly as possible, inattentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-By-The-Sea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Iconic & excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The only restaurant in Carmel-by-the-Sea w/ a view (Court of the Fountains) and consistent fine dining, period. Brothers Bert and Mark Simpson, respectivly maitre d' and chef, have been w/ owner Tony Salameh for many years because all three understand what a fine dining restaurant experience should be. And where do you find table side preperation these days? We travel everywhere for great meals and can count on two hands where salads, etc. are prepared this way. There are no variables at A&M just consistancy. If you are in Carmel for only one meal A&M should be your luncheon or dining spot which will not disappoint.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton & Michel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Anton & Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anton & Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.