We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and decent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Point Restaurant

Rocky Point Restaurant
36700 Highway 1, Carmel, CA 93940
(831) 624-2933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocky Point Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palo Colorado Cyn
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit stops one mile north of Rocky Point Restaurant
Description: Rocky Point Restaurant is located 10 miles south of Carmel, a mere fifteen-minute scenic drive, on 36700 Highway 1, between Carmel and Big Sur, offering spectacular views of the sea and shore from all window tables. We are open every day - all day. Our guests may enjoy whale spouting, sea otters and pelicans. Enjoy breakfast or lunch on our ocean terrace or in our lounge, or have a romantic candlelight dinner while the sun is setting over the Pacific Ocean. After sunset, our powerful floodlights illuminate the rocks and shore.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
202 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great view and decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited this driving from Big Sur and the view was great. Food was good (what we had, appetizers).

NE Clam Chowder was VERY good. Oysters, were VERY good, Tuna was good. Soup of the day was not good, needed seasoning.

Service was good. Nice place to stop and have a drink or a quick bite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRACE W, Owner at Rocky Point Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Rocky Point Restaurant “View is not the only reason you visit Rocky Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 NEW

Noticed that many management improvements have happened at Rocky Point. Old managers are all gone. In order to improve Rocky Point's cuisine & services, we had to replace several executive chefs and three general managers during the first year of operation...This is largely due to my inexperience as a first time restaurant owner. The new interim manager/Chef formerly of Ritz-Carlton-San Francisco is in residence at Rocky Point to oversee the entire operation. More top ranked guest chefs and managers will join us soon. The new menu is excellent. Renovation at all levels including a private dinning room which shall open in a month. We are encouraged and grateful to so many excellent and honest comments coming from all over the world. Thanks. We have learnt much during the first year of operation and will continue to excel our cuisine & food services during 2014. Our motto is to renovate the infrastructure to make Rocky Point shine again then followed with new management team during the second year. To see is to believe. Do come to see us---Peter C C Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    148
    60
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The view is magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a small restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating overlooking the Pacific. Food is good and the atmosphere is wonderful. Eat, drink and enjoy the view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a great stop on the to or from Carmel/Big Sur. It is a must stop for lunch or dinner with views as good as 17 mile drive. Great service and excellent bar area. Outside dining too with fireplaces

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Purely Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a gorgeous view over the dramatic Pacific coast! Eat a delicious, casual meal, inside or outside while watching the waves crash on the rocks and sand. Service was attentive and food choices great! Lovely flower pots and trees surround the building. Watch closely for the one sign and drive down a short way to their parking lot. Very well maintained.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Deceiving Sign!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Don't let the sign for this place turn you off...just stop in...you will love it! They have new owners and it is a beautiful setting with really friendly staff. We just had drinks on the deck but the menu looked good. I wish they would get a nicer sign...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Point Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rocky Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.