We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Point Restaurant

Rocky Point Restaurant
36700 Hwy 1, Carmel, CA 93940
(831) 624-2933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocky Point Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palo Colorado Cyn
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit stops one mile north of Rocky Point Restaurant
Description: Rocky Point Restaurant is located 10 miles south of Carmel, a mere fifteen-minute scenic drive, on 36700 Highway 1, between Carmel and Big Sur, offering spectacular views of the sea and shore from all window tables. We are open every day - all day. Our guests may enjoy whale spouting, sea otters and pelicans. Enjoy breakfast or lunch on our ocean terrace or in our lounge, or have a romantic candlelight dinner while the sun is setting over the Pacific Ocean. After sunset, our powerful floodlights illuminate the rocks and shore.
Davis, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Incredible views and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went to restaurant for dinner. Sat at table near window to watch sunset. Gorgeous view. Catch of the day was excellent as was strawberry rhubarb cobbler. Service was good. Will definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    99
    54
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The view make this place special, the food is almost there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We drove a while looking for a place with an ocean view. A helpful gas station-wine shop in Carmel pointed us to this place. The view was exactly what we were looking for, especially on the nice day from the outdoor seating area. The menu was a little restricted, would have liked to have seen more fish options. Our swordfish was nicely presented and was "fine" but maybe not quite up to the level of the great location. Service was friendly, just a touch slow and a tiny bit confused but they got the job done. Look forward to trying it again sometime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Like being in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here while driving up the coast and decided to order dessert. The view was so incredible looking over the ocean and at the Bixby Bridge. The desserts we ordered were so delicious - Creme brûlée, cheesecake, and cobbler. The service we received from all the staff was so attentive and friendly. We loved it here!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular Food and a Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We tripped over this place and even though we had doubts about any restaurant with a view (usually the food isn't up to the view) it was really spectacular. The bar tender was hilarious and the chef came out to talk with us. The Salmon was perfectly cooked with a lot going on on the plate - each bit was different and wonderful. The mussels were rich and delicious. Wonderful wine. Just a super time when we least expected it. This is the place to stop on the drive up the coast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to Rocky Point before, about 7 years ago. The place has the same AWESOME VIEW!!!, but the staff seemed friendlier, more attentive, very pleasant. The Food is Good, not Great, but certainly not bad. We had a half bottle of wine, a couple of appetizers, dessert and specialty coffee. We came in around 4ish so we were working off their "late afternoon not quite dinner menu" but we knew that before we got there. The waitress informed us that we were welcome to stay and have dinner, hang out, walk around the grounds or just order off of the menu for the afternoon. She was very accommodating and attentive and super pleasant. The menu is a little pricey but really not more than the good restaurants in Monterey. It's really all about the View and Ambience here and it certainly is worth it. This view of Big Sur is one of the main reasons we came back to the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Point Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rocky Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.