We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The largest baked spud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Point Restaurant

Rocky Point Restaurant
36700 Hwy 1, Carmel, CA 93940
(831) 624-2933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocky Point Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palo Colorado Cyn
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit stops one mile north of Rocky Point Restaurant
Description: Rocky Point Restaurant is located 10 miles south of Carmel, a mere fifteen-minute scenic drive, on 36700 Highway 1, between Carmel and Big Sur, offering spectacular views of the sea and shore from all window tables. We are open every day - all day. Our guests may enjoy whale spouting, sea otters and pelicans. Enjoy breakfast or lunch on our ocean terrace or in our lounge, or have a romantic candlelight dinner while the sun is setting over the Pacific Ocean. After sunset, our powerful floodlights illuminate the rocks and shore.
Tiburon, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The largest baked spud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of the best sunset restaurants and bar in all the coast of Ca.
Every dinner I have had, and that over 20 years, has been GREAT!
Order a steak and baked potato and see the largest spud around.
Great spot just for a drink anytime but get there for the sunset and fall in love.
not a kids place if you wish to make other dinners happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    102
    54
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible view, must go, pricey!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Incredible view on the patio. Very expensive so my family ordered 4 clam chowders, and 4 drinks and still spent over $60 with tip.
However it was worth it!! The soup and bread was perfect!! Dog friendly.
We will come here on every trip. ***If your daring; from the parking lot there are some steep paths that lead down to some wonderful tide pools. But it's slightly dangerous. I suggest hiking down around 10am and then climbing back up for some lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A PLACE LIKE NO OTHER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We came in on Saturday, we were sat at a table right at the window. We were greeted right away by our server Brenda who was charming, friendly and sweat. We could tell she was busy but she never stopped smiling and was very attentive to us. I had the Rocky Point burger which was excellent, my friend had the calamari which was divine. We both shared the cobbler also very tasty. Our server spotted out some killer whales for us which was so awesome to see. Our over all experience was magical... beyond our expectations! Truly a place like no other. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A place like no other...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came in on Saturday, we were sat at a table right at the window. We were greeted right away by our server Brenda who was charming, friendly and sweat. We could tell she was busy but she never stopped smiling and was very attentive to us. I had the Rocky Point burger which was excellent, my friend had the calamari which was divine. We both shared the cobbler also very tasty. Our server spotted out some killer whales for us which was so awesome to see. Our over all experience was magical... beyond our expectations! Truly a place like no other. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rocky Point Birthday Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Service was quite good, views spectacular, drinks good, wine good value, interesting small but adequate menu, entrees ordinary in preparation, desserts very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Point Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rocky Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.