We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watched the sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Point Restaurant

Rocky Point Restaurant
36700 Hwy 1, Carmel, CA 93940
(831) 624-2933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocky Point Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Californian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palo Colorado Cyn
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit stops one mile north of Rocky Point Restaurant
Description: Rocky Point Restaurant is located 10 miles south of Carmel, a mere fifteen-minute scenic drive, on 36700 Highway 1, between Carmel and Big Sur, offering spectacular views of the sea and shore from all window tables. We are open every day - all day. Our guests may enjoy whale spouting, sea otters and pelicans. Enjoy breakfast or lunch on our ocean terrace or in our lounge, or have a romantic candlelight dinner while the sun is setting over the Pacific Ocean. After sunset, our powerful floodlights illuminate the rocks and shore.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Watched the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable dinner at Rocky Point. The view is amazing -- we could watch the pelicans and gulls flying around. The food was excellent -- the waiter was knowledgeable and help us with our choices. We had after dinner coffees on the patio and watched the sun go down. A wonderful locale.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    123
    56
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful little place to have your lunch on the way..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were driving from SF to Cambria. The restaurent was exactly when we needed our lunch. Beautiful outdoor seating, blue ocean, the mountain, you can see a nice bridge..a perfect place for lunch on highway 1. My daughter said that the beef burger was the best she ever had! Very good service. We were little hurried and they worked their best to do things quickly. Waiter was very nice, cordial and helpful. Definitley will stop by again if we go that way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location new owners some rough edges but hopeful future”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

One of the most beautiful locations in the world. Restaurant newly reopened and a decent but surprisingly modest menu. Prices are fine service is hit and miss but friendly. BUT there is one thing and one reason to come here no matter what: a Pavlova(look it up) with huckleberry and Meyer lemon that is a dessert worth traveling many miles for. I will leave this review there. Food is good enough but single dessert item is worth the trip. Never said that about a restaurant before..,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome View, Not for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited just after the re-opening. The remodeling looks great, and the staff is eager. I came at 10:00am hoping for Breakfast, but that was just a couple of plates of pastries on the bar counter. So I had a Croissant & Coffee, and read my book with an awesome view. I wish I had arrived later and would have tried the lunch menu.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have always told visitors to have at least a drink at Rocky Point because you cannot beat the view ....and only 10 miles south of Carmel so you get the BigSur experience without the whole drive . This was our first visit since the remodel and new management. Huge improvement. Lunch was interesting potato crab cake and salmon sandwich and excellent . Compliments to the chef. Service equally good. Pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Point Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Rocky Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.