We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pub style seafood restaurant. Casual and friendly with fantastic food. Really enjoyed the chilled seafood platter. Good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    118
    22
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Charming Little Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

On our drive down the coast, we stopped at Carmel for lunch and decided on A W Shucks. The restaurant is small but very charming; the bar is impressive!! The fish & chips & the chowder were delicious and served in abundance. A nice little spot to lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good stopover for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We wanted oysters and decided to choose this place as It was late summer and not many restaurants served oysters during the warm months. We ordered a dozen of mixed oysters, the clam chowder, a burger and lemon pie. Overall a very satisfying meal. As this was a drinking place the only disappointment was that they do not serve speciality coffee like expresso and latte. Service was good and we were seated at the counter overlooking the chef preparations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Spot for a Lighter Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having spent the day driving from San Mateo and exploring the Monterey area we were searching for a restaurant that served lighter meals so that we were not too stuffed on our trip back to the north. We happened upon A W Shucks where the menu listed soup, soup & sandwich combos, salads and seafood, etc. Prices were reasonable. We chose a half dozen oysters in the half shell, clam chowder, caesar salad, fish tacos and key lime pie for desert. Most of the food was good, but not really outstanding. They have both New England and Manhattan style clam chowder. I found the Manhattan style chowder to be very good. The server that we had was excellent and offered many helpful suggestions. It turned out to be exactly the sort of meal that we were looking for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“2.5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food was so-so. Avoid clam chower. Calamari was salty and tough. Shrimp was ok. French fries was subpar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.