We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pub style seafood restaurant. Casual and friendly with fantastic food. Really enjoyed the chilled seafood platter. Good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    87
    87
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Charming Little Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

On our drive down the coast, we stopped at Carmel for lunch and decided on A W Shucks. The restaurant is small but very charming; the bar is impressive!! The fish & chips & the chowder were delicious and served in abundance. A nice little spot to lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good stopover for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We wanted oysters and decided to choose this place as It was late summer and not many restaurants served oysters during the warm months. We ordered a dozen of mixed oysters, the clam chowder, a burger and lemon pie. Overall a very satisfying meal. As this was a drinking place the only disappointment was that they do not serve speciality coffee like expresso and latte. Service was good and we were seated at the counter overlooking the chef preparations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Spot for a Lighter Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having spent the day driving from San Mateo and exploring the Monterey area we were searching for a restaurant that served lighter meals so that we were not too stuffed on our trip back to the north. We happened upon A W Shucks where the menu listed soup, soup & sandwich combos, salads and seafood, etc. Prices were reasonable. We chose a half dozen oysters in the half shell, clam chowder, caesar salad, fish tacos and key lime pie for desert. Most of the food was good, but not really outstanding. They have both New England and Manhattan style clam chowder. I found the Manhattan style chowder to be very good. The server that we had was excellent and offered many helpful suggestions. It turned out to be exactly the sort of meal that we were looking for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
“2.5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food was so-so. Avoid clam chower. Calamari was salty and tough. Shrimp was ok. French fries was subpar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.