We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Little Restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 125 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Charming Little Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

On our drive down the coast, we stopped at Carmel for lunch and decided on A W Shucks. The restaurant is small but very charming; the bar is impressive!! The fish & chips & the chowder were delicious and served in abundance. A nice little spot to lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    117
    21
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good stopover for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We wanted oysters and decided to choose this place as It was late summer and not many restaurants served oysters during the warm months. We ordered a dozen of mixed oysters, the clam chowder, a burger and lemon pie. Overall a very satisfying meal. As this was a drinking place the only disappointment was that they do not serve speciality coffee like expresso and latte. Service was good and we were seated at the counter overlooking the chef preparations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Spot for a Lighter Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having spent the day driving from San Mateo and exploring the Monterey area we were searching for a restaurant that served lighter meals so that we were not too stuffed on our trip back to the north. We happened upon A W Shucks where the menu listed soup, soup & sandwich combos, salads and seafood, etc. Prices were reasonable. We chose a half dozen oysters in the half shell, clam chowder, caesar salad, fish tacos and key lime pie for desert. Most of the food was good, but not really outstanding. They have both New England and Manhattan style clam chowder. I found the Manhattan style chowder to be very good. The server that we had was excellent and offered many helpful suggestions. It turned out to be exactly the sort of meal that we were looking for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
“2.5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food was so-so. Avoid clam chower. Calamari was salty and tough. Shrimp was ok. French fries was subpar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Ca.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More than a restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When at A W Shucks we drank and noshed. A great place to relax and take a long break from the walking and shopping in downtown. A great variety of seafood to choose from. Busy, yet not noisy. I have spent many afternoons there with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.