We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot for a Lighter Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Spot for a Lighter Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having spent the day driving from San Mateo and exploring the Monterey area we were searching for a restaurant that served lighter meals so that we were not too stuffed on our trip back to the north. We happened upon A W Shucks where the menu listed soup, soup & sandwich combos, salads and seafood, etc. Prices were reasonable. We chose a half dozen oysters in the half shell, clam chowder, caesar salad, fish tacos and key lime pie for desert. Most of the food was good, but not really outstanding. They have both New England and Manhattan style clam chowder. I found the Manhattan style chowder to be very good. The server that we had was excellent and offered many helpful suggestions. It turned out to be exactly the sort of meal that we were looking for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    104
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
“2.5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food was so-so. Avoid clam chower. Calamari was salty and tough. Shrimp was ok. French fries was subpar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Ca.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More than a restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When at A W Shucks we drank and noshed. A great place to relax and take a long break from the walking and shopping in downtown. A great variety of seafood to choose from. Busy, yet not noisy. I have spent many afternoons there with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
“Nice cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

A little small seafood restaurant in the heart of Carmel. Really enjoyed their home made chilli, oysters, clam chowder and their friendly service. As a seafood fan I have to say I enjoyed coming in here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good spot for casual seafood lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great spot for a casual seafood lunch. The clam chowder was very good. The crab cakes were fine but not great. The fried shrimp was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.