We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Los Altos Ca.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More than a restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When at A W Shucks we drank and noshed. A great place to relax and take a long break from the walking and shopping in downtown. A great variety of seafood to choose from. Busy, yet not noisy. I have spent many afternoons there with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    98
    95
    10
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
“Nice cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

A little small seafood restaurant in the heart of Carmel. Really enjoyed their home made chilli, oysters, clam chowder and their friendly service. As a seafood fan I have to say I enjoyed coming in here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good spot for casual seafood lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great spot for a casual seafood lunch. The clam chowder was very good. The crab cakes were fine but not great. The fried shrimp was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Awesome ! Best clam chowder I had for years! Great crab cakes with perfect Caesar Salad.. Superb Chardonnay from local Carmel valley.. Nice ambience, efficient service.. Highly recommended...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Arrived into Carmel hungry and tired after 5 hour drive. Chose this place because we love seafood and also had received great reviews from other TA guests. We were not disappointed. Carmel is beautiful and there is such a mix of great looking places to eat. But this place is casual whilst maintaining a really cool vibe.
The crab cakes are delicious and the prawns on my salad were the largest I've ever eaten. You've got to go here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.