We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Clam Chowder...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Orbe, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Awesome ! Best clam chowder I had for years! Great crab cakes with perfect Caesar Salad.. Superb Chardonnay from local Carmel valley.. Nice ambience, efficient service.. Highly recommended...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    122
    24
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Arrived into Carmel hungry and tired after 5 hour drive. Chose this place because we love seafood and also had received great reviews from other TA guests. We were not disappointed. Carmel is beautiful and there is such a mix of great looking places to eat. But this place is casual whilst maintaining a really cool vibe.
The crab cakes are delicious and the prawns on my salad were the largest I've ever eaten. You've got to go here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The atmosphere was great, the servers were friendly and I really wanted to like this place. But I mainly went for the oysters and they were a disappointment. Of my half dozen three were still firmly attached to the shell and all six were full of broken shell pieces. Not good enough. With a name like AW Shucks it should be possible to have someone on the staff who knows how to shuck an oyster!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicous seafood and lovely relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We decided to have a tapas-style aperitif here and had booked dinner elsewhere, but next time we will definitely have full dinner here.

We shared the crab cocktail, which was super fresh, tasty and a good size portion. The wine list was good and well priced.

Service was excellent; friendly and efficient without being intrusive (which we have often found service to be in the USA).

We didn't try the oysters, but the people next to us did and then ordered a second helping, so they are on our list for the next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had lunch twice at this restaurant. The food is top notch especially the oysters and chowder. The service is very prompt and efficient.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.