We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had lunch twice at this restaurant. The food is top notch especially the oysters and chowder. The service is very prompt and efficient.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    87
    87
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Place for Lunch While Shopping Carmel's Ocean Ave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoy good oysters, good seafood, good drinks, and good service - all of them are here at A.W. Shucks.
There's nothing like a dozen oysters and a good Bloody Mary. I find it strange how so few bar tenders these days simply cannot make a decent Bloody Mary. Shucks makes a very decent Bloody Mary, so the rest is all downhill.
The oysters were fresh and delicious. The New England Clam Chowder was good, and the seafood sandwich was good - but we had to admit that we've tasted better at other places, hence the 4 rating instead of 5. I had the Caesar Salad, but it could have used a bit more dressing.

We had Whitney for our server. She was new, but did an excellent job! Way to go, Whitney!

We'll be back here next visit to Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a big lunch and wanted something light for dinner. We stopped at A W Shucks and enjoyed our meal which consisted of clam chowder and grilled oysters. Both were excellent. I also enjoyed a great martini and my husband picked a beer from a good selection. Worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very noisy with pib atmosphere, however the burgers were really great and their wine list even better. A wide variety of food, but do not get too near the musician.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bloody Marys, Oysters, Rose Chowder...what could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have taken to eating at least once at AW Shucks whenever I'm in Carmel, and I'm never disappointed. Whether at the bar or a table, the service is efficient. I see the bartenders making all kinds of great-looking drinks, but I can't seem to stop ordering their Bloody Mary, and am never disappointed. Their seafood appetizer plate is easily enough for 2 with the addition of their incredibly wonderful rose clam chowder...a "gotta try" on their menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.