We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great light dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a big lunch and wanted something light for dinner. We stopped at A W Shucks and enjoyed our meal which consisted of clam chowder and grilled oysters. Both were excellent. I also enjoyed a great martini and my husband picked a beer from a good selection. Worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    114
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very noisy with pib atmosphere, however the burgers were really great and their wine list even better. A wide variety of food, but do not get too near the musician.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bloody Marys, Oysters, Rose Chowder...what could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have taken to eating at least once at AW Shucks whenever I'm in Carmel, and I'm never disappointed. Whether at the bar or a table, the service is efficient. I see the bartenders making all kinds of great-looking drinks, but I can't seem to stop ordering their Bloody Mary, and am never disappointed. Their seafood appetizer plate is easily enough for 2 with the addition of their incredibly wonderful rose clam chowder...a "gotta try" on their menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Best Crab Louie salad ever in quantity & quality of crab delicious. Excellent service and bar. Will go back whenever I am in Carmel. Located on Ocean Ave with all the shops so great place to stop for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More than an oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

1. Great bar with an incredible array of spirits.
2. One of the best burgers in town.
3. Great fish & chips.
4. And of course, oysters!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.