We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great light dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 125 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a big lunch and wanted something light for dinner. We stopped at A W Shucks and enjoyed our meal which consisted of clam chowder and grilled oysters. Both were excellent. I also enjoyed a great martini and my husband picked a beer from a good selection. Worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    122
    24
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very noisy with pib atmosphere, however the burgers were really great and their wine list even better. A wide variety of food, but do not get too near the musician.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bloody Marys, Oysters, Rose Chowder...what could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have taken to eating at least once at AW Shucks whenever I'm in Carmel, and I'm never disappointed. Whether at the bar or a table, the service is efficient. I see the bartenders making all kinds of great-looking drinks, but I can't seem to stop ordering their Bloody Mary, and am never disappointed. Their seafood appetizer plate is easily enough for 2 with the addition of their incredibly wonderful rose clam chowder...a "gotta try" on their menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Best Crab Louie salad ever in quantity & quality of crab delicious. Excellent service and bar. Will go back whenever I am in Carmel. Located on Ocean Ave with all the shops so great place to stop for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than an oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

1. Great bar with an incredible array of spirits.
2. One of the best burgers in town.
3. Great fish & chips.
4. And of course, oysters!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.